• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Building a small server???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TUK101

I am going to set up a small network to game through. I will have up to 6 computers hooked up to it at a time, and am wondering if I should bother with setting up a server to run it through? The #! game that I will be playing through the network will most likely be Unreal Tournament. Others will include Motorcross Madness, and Starcraft. Unreal Tournament suggests setting up a designated server to maintain a high bandwidth so that everyone gets to enjoy a smooth game. I am wondering how many mhz of a processor, and how much ram and hardrive I should have for a designated gaming server. I have shopped around and can build a 500 mhz Celeron system pretty cheap (around $300 or less). (I am still learning about networking and can use any advice. I already know that I need a switch and network cards. Will it be enough just to have a switch, or would everyone benefit from have a server running things?

foshdawg

Registered
it depends on the frequency of gaming. if you play a lot, it'd be best to set up a LAN server. as for the actual specs of a box, i'm not really sure but i'd guess if the box is fully capable of running the game and handling the mass quantities of info passing to and from the server, it'd be able to run no problem.

Krieger