• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Bulletproof simple server?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Veland

So, I've got no experience with other then Windows.. Thing is, I need a very simple yet stable server. When it's turned on, it stays on indefinately! Can't say that about Windows...

So, my wishlist:
Stable
Possible to set up even for someone like me
Must give me access to port programming
Must be accessible from the net

What it's for? Well, in the server cluster at work, we have some problems, namely some boxes that now and then must be turned off. The hard way, by pulling the plug... This has a tendency to happen at night, of course, and means that someone must drive in, pull the plug, plug it back in, and drive home.

Takes time and is expensive. So, I need a stable computer with a couple of relays hooked up to it that will cut power on command... Ideas please?

OP
Veland

Veland

Thanks! That first thing link looks great, but still, I'd like to do it myself :santa:

And auto reboot is something we already do on some servers. But we also have some firewall boxes that hangs from time to time. And they can't be directly managed and rebooted, other than pulling the plug.

So do send other recomendations and ideas!

MRD

I would go with freebsd or debian as well, gnufsh read my mind.

Both are excellent server distros.

Personally, I tend to put gentoo on my servers, but that's just because I know gentoo the best. Debian is really the better choice among linux distros. BSD isn't a linux distro, it's another implementation of unix for the pc. Totally different code base, but excellent for stability and security.

Scott9027