• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Burn-In Programs

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

takiwa

I am writing this guide for anyone who wants more information about programs that are commonly refered to as "burn-in" programs, and are used by overclockers to both burn-in and test the stabilty of an overclocked system. I am by no means an expert at this, so if anyone has anything of value to add to this document, please feel free to do so...this is by no means a comprehensive guide, and I would ask that anyone who has any other programs to add to do so. This thread is for information concerning the tools of our trade, so let's keep it up-to-date...

Burning in a chip is (sometimes) an effective means of producing higher, more stable overclocking from your system. By applying maximum voltage to a chip, while running at the lowest FSB speeds with good temps, you are "stretching" that chips tolerance for more voltage and power. After a good burn-in, overclockers will often find that they can reach higher FSB speeds with less voltage increase, and lower temps. This is the sole purpose of a burn-in. A more technical aspect of this theory can be read here...