• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can i Install 2 xms3 tripplechannel with 2 xms2 dualchannel?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pathfinder2

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2010
Hi guys, I called asus and corsair about this and they really couldnt give me an answer, so I thought for sure some of the more experienced and knowladgable folks here can make some sense out of this and hopefully share there thoughts and or suggestions how to go about this. Alright so i have the
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard which states it supports dual channel..Okay so I have 2 Kits of

CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMX6GX3M3C1600C7

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145286

and i One Kit of

CORSAIR XMS3 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMX4GX3M2A1600C7

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145285

Each stick of memory has the same timmings, latency and voltage, so one would think why wouldnt it be okay to simply install any 4 sticks in any dimm?

So what do ya think the best way to install the 8GB of ram and get best performance out of them.

Im thinking maybe what if I installed 2 sticks from the tripple channel Kit in one Dimm and 2 sticks of the dual channel ram in the second Dim, would that be optial for the dual channel motherboard i have or is there something in those tripple channel sticks that would not support the dual channel memory on the board?

I already installed all 3 sticks and 1 Stick and everything seemed to run fine okay? I Held down the MEMOK! button on the board and after a few seconds boothed up, however id just like to throw this issue out and see if anyone has any knowladge on the issue with tripple channel and dual channel Memory.

Thanks for any thoughts, and sorry about the long message i just wanted to add the links to each item so you can see exactly what im working with.

Ed
 

Bobnova

Senior Member
Joined
May 10, 2009
The triple/dual channel pretty much just refers to how many come in a kit.
That should be just fine.
 
OP
P

pathfinder2

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2010
Great thanks for the quick reply...you definitely have made me more comfortable. Now i just need to figure out how to set the trimmings in the bios....i guess ill start a new thread unless someone has any suggestions they can share...If you take a look you can see the board and memory ill have to work with, and iv got the I7-860 im not an extremest, but i would like to get the the best performance out of the memory installed, Ya know?
 

beenthere

Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2010
As noted on Corsair's website mixing of RAM is neither recommended nor guaranteed to work. All they guarantee - like most RAM suppliers is one, tested, matched compatible kit will work. You can try all the combinations in hopes of finding something that will work but often this is an exercise in frustration. See the Corsair memory upgrade guide link below for details.

It's worth noting that the Corsair RAM latency timings are for one RAM kit not for the specific modules so if you use two kits you aren't likely to be able to run them at the advertised latencies if at all. You may need to lower the RAM frequency also to get two RAM kits to possibly work?

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=87341
 
OP
P

pathfinder2

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2010
As noted on Corsair's website mixing of RAM is neither recommended nor guaranteed to work. All they guarantee - like most RAM suppliers is one, tested, matched compatible kit will work. You can try all the combinations in hopes of finding something that will work but often this is an exercise in frustration. See the Corsair memory upgrade guide link below for details.

It's worth noting that the Corsair RAM latency timings are for one RAM kit not for the specific modules so if you use two kits you aren't likely to be able to run them at the advertised latencies if at all. You may need to lower the RAM frequency also to get two RAM kits to possibly work?

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=87341

yes although im not that knowladgable about latency and timmings in general, i did make sure they are all cas latenncy 7 aswell as all sticks have the same timmings

CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMX6GX3M3C1600C7

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145286

and i One Kit of

CORSAIR XMS3 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMX4GX3M2A1600C7

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145285

after looking at the specs in both the three pack and two pack would you be more confident it will work out okay? And i do plan on installing one pair from the three pack in one channel and the other two in the second channel, so bassicly each channel will have the exact latency and timmings and brand name?

Any thoughts concerning the way to install them for optimal performance?
Thanks guys!!