• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can not get AMD overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
OP
P

pedro2020

Registered
Joined
Aug 28, 2015
I made all,, try and try, now I know exactly how it Works, I downloaded ntune and with that now I know the value of memory bus speed, look at this...

OC_______Mem Clock_____CPU SPEED___DRAM____Mem Bus Speed

All in Auto________________2813_______535.7______1407
profile 7%________________2998_______571.0______1500
FBS 217_______667_______ 3038_______723________1519
FBS 218_______667_______ 3052_______726________1526
FBS219_______667________ 3075______732 ________1537
FBS 220_______667________3075______732_________1537
FBS 217_______800________3039______868_________1519
FBS 218_______800________3052______872_________1526
FBS 219_______800----------- do not start at all ---

Here the restrictive parameter for my computer is the memory capability, I have two slots 4 GB at 1600 MHz so, when the OC Memory reaches 1530 approx. it looks as a limit so, when I was trying with FBS of 220 the values were the same than 219,, it shows like a limit,,. it was the reason I did not get stability my system. If I would have 1800 or 2000 or mem bus speed , then I can reach a higher OC.

I am going to stay at FBS 219, 667 of Mem clock with 1537 memory bus speed that is 9.5% OC. more that 7% OC profile :)

How do you interpret those values and my conclusion....
 
Last edited:

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
CPU-z tells you the current value of the memory bus speed in the memory tab.

What is your memory rated for. According to post #15 in this thread the memory is rated for 1600 mhz. Look at the SPD tab, JEDEC #7 column. If it is only running at 1530 mhz then the memory should not be causing the instability. Do you have mixed speeds of RAM installed? What's showing in slot #1 is 1600 mhz RAM.

There are a number of things that can cause instability besides memory:

1. Exceeding the thermal envelope of either the CPU or the VRM of the motherboard.
2. Having either the HT Link or the CPU/NB frequency to high. CPU/NB shows up as just "NB" in CPU-z.
3. Having the FSB too high. Cheap motherboards will not tolerate a FSB of more than about 240-250. Their "metronome" as it were is not tolerant of high FSB frequencies.
4. CPU core voltage being too low or too high.
5. And of course, just exceeding the overclockability of the of the CPU itself.
 
OP
P

pedro2020

Registered
Joined
Aug 28, 2015
thank again guys for your help..

This what ntune shows,,

Sin_t_tulo.jpg

50670301fc5a741616dfdee9a44d0786066e3ede721442c4e5e6e07ca5203f145b62ddf8.jpg

I do not have mixed speeds of RAM installed. I was tryin with CPU/NB frequency, and I think it do not work for my bios, and what happen with my OC is that sometimes the pc starts and sometimes do not. and for course this is the bios protection.

well, look at the mem bus speed ntune information ...
 
Last edited:

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Yes, your memory bus speed when the RAM is operating at the full 1600 mhz it is rated for would be 800 mhz. The DDR speed is twice the bus speed. DDR stands for Double Data Rate. Did you catch the word "Double". All that info and more is shown by CPU-z.

So why are you showing us this screenie of NTune?