• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can someone help me?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kopfjaeger

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2004
Gentlemen (and women),
This may not be in the correct forum, but I could not find one that looked any more appropriate for general help. My apologies in advance.

Just to lay the groundwork for my question, I have an Intel 3.2 Northwood running on an Asus P4P800SE motherboard with one stick of 512 MB Kingston PC3200.

My problem comes in the form of the computer restarting it's self if I try to push it past about 213 mhz (stock being 200 on mine). I managed to get it up to about 3.423 ghz for a while, but it did eventualy reboot on it's own.

I tried upping the core voltage a bit to 1.625v, but it didn't do me any good. Tried 1.65v as well to no avail.

I don't believe temperature has anything to do with it as I never broke over 33ºc pushing 3.5 ghz.

Can anyone give me any ideas as to why I can't get it to overclock??

Thank you in advance, all help is appriciated.
Brandon
 

Yuriman

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2002
Location
The OCFORUMS
Have you tried loosening your memory timings? Also, try more ddr voltage, bump it up to about 2.9v. OR you could use a divider, such as 5:4. So if you are running 250fsb, your ram is at 200.
 
OP
K

kopfjaeger

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2004
Yuriman said:
Have you tried loosening your memory timings? Also, try more ddr voltage, bump it up to about 2.9v. OR you could use a divider, such as 5:4. So if you are running 250fsb, your ram is at 200.

You'll have to forgive me as I'm new to overclocking, but what do you mean by memory timings?

I'll try bumping my DDR voltage and see what happens.
Thanks
 
OP
K

kopfjaeger

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2004
dowmace said:
what kind of psu are you running, it is possible that when a drive or something you have kicks up, it pulls just alittle more wattage than your psu is ready for

I have a 420watt Thermaltake.

I have it running ok right now at 3.36 ghz :bang head
 
OP
K

kopfjaeger

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2004
My memory won't go down below 266 mhz. I'd have to oc to 4.256 ghz just to get a 1:1 ratio :-/ :cry:

By memory timings I'm asuming we're talking about the "clocks"?
IE:3-4-4-6 in the memory portion of the bios? What should I try to set these to?
 
OP
K

kopfjaeger

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2004
Nevermind, I'm stupid. I posted that and remembered, "DDR you moron".

Which would be better, a 1:1 ratio or a 5:4?