• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can this work??????

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bradco

Hey everyone!! I'm fairly new at this so here's the question....

What I have is 3 hard drives: 2 of them are IDE [C: drive(40 gig), and D: drive (120 gig). The other one is a SATA II 200 gig which I partioned into a 40 and a 160 gig. The mobo is a gigabyte SLI board.

I have XP pro on my C: drive(of course), but I want to put 64bit XP pro on my SATA 40 gig(I: drive).

Oh, I've got an AMD64 3000+ CPU..........CAN THIS WORK?????????

Do I need more info to give to U????

If I can't, do I have to come off of my C: drive and partion that?????

Thanks........only prob, when I boot up with my windows disk, and it tells me where I'm going to put the OS, it will only give me my 2 IDE drives (C: & D:)...no I: or J: drives(partioned SATA drive)...what do I need to do???

Something in my BIOS???

You'll need to install the SATA controller drivers, available from the MB manufacturer's website... and install them during the F6 portion of Setup. Setup won't be able to recognize the controller until after you load the drivers into memory. You may have also received a floppy disk with your MB, which contains the drivers for the controller.

When XP setup starts, you'll arrive at a blue screen which at the bottom says "Press F6 if you want to specify additional SCSI/RAID controllers"...press F6 (make sure that if you have a keyboard w/ an F Lock key, you depress it before hitting F6). When asked to do so, press S to specify additional drivers, insert the floppy disk containing the controller drivers, then continue the install as normal.

Last edited:
I did exactly as you said, but I still can't get any other drives other than my C: drive...which means I'll have to re-write over my XP OS already on there.