• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can't change ram speeds.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

saturn

Disabled
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
So I benching a 7300 and 6200.

I was able to over and under clock the ram on the 6200 until furmark crashed. After furmark crashed I was unable to over and under clock the ram.
The same happened with the 7300. It was fine until furmark crashed wile using it.
When I go to change the ram speeds in afterburner the speed goes right back to stock.

I tired uninstalled afterburner, rebooting.
uninstalled the gpu drivers and rebooted
did a ddu, reboot and registry clean.

None of that worked.

I installed powerstrip and I was able to OC both cards with it, but the same problem came back when furmark crashed after pushing the cards too far.


system
q6600
4bg ddr3 ram
vista 64
x48 fid lanparty mobo
TPQ-1200w psu.


Any ideas?
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
I have no clue...sorry.

But stop using furmark. It's a 'power virus' and can kill cards. Use unigine heaven or valley to test stability and max temps.
 
OP
S

saturn

Disabled
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
Unigine dose not like alot of the old crap I bench. It's too new.
Anyway if the 2 cards were damaged from furmark, it would be a first for me. I been using furmark since it came out.

I seem to be having the same problem with every card that crashes with overclocked ram in the system. Weather it crashed with furmark of something else.
Also the motherboard took a dump so I'll be setting up a new system. The problem should be gone after that.


The really odd thing is that I can use a different app to OC the ram and it's fine until the card's ram gets unstable.
I installed powerstrip,Rivatuner and nvtune and there were fine until the card became unstable.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Its not the thermals that are the problem...(well that is part of it).

Google: "Furmark power virus". You will find one where both AMD and NVIDIA called them power viruses and to refrain from using them. Yes, there are protections in the drivers from it. However, its still a terrible program to use as it is an unrealistic load on the GPU and can still potentially damage the cards.
(I would do this for you, but I am trying to get out the door)
 
OP
S

saturn

Disabled
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
How does furmark kill a card, don't Graphics card have thermal throttling?
Furmark alone dose not kill cards, If you have a good working card and proper cooling. It's failing cards and cards with sub par cooling that it kills. Anything with the same level of load will kill a bad card as well.
It not to say that it's not hard on a good video card. But anything with the same level of load will do in a bad card.

The idea is that the heat and load is past what most cards can handle.
Why would amd or nvida make a card that can't be ran at max load?

This is the same with prime95. Some claim it can kill CPUs.
If what your testing is in full working order and is properly cooled your be fine. Occt, Kombuster, [email protected] and ati-tool all have had similar reports.
It's not the app, but the load on bad/failing hardware that dose it in.

I been using furnark for a long time. I used it on everything from old fx and ati 9xxx cards to 5xx and hd 5xxx cards and never once seen it killed a good card.

Anyway I reinstalled Windows and the problem is gone.
 

JLK03F150

What have I done! Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Georgia
I'm guessing you already know, but some 6200 cards can be unlocked to 6600 with rivatuner. If you didn't know, it's pretty easy to google an unlock guide.

I've never been big on overclocking video RAM, I've seen better results just pushing the GPU clock as far as possible. Glad you got it sorted, even if you needed a reinstall.
 

wingman99

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Furmark alone dose not kill cards, If you have a good working card and proper cooling. It's failing cards and cards with sub par cooling that it kills. Anything with the same level of load will kill a bad card as well.
It not to say that it's not hard on a good video card. But anything with the same level of load will do in a bad card.

The idea is that the heat and load is past what most cards can handle.
Why would amd or nvida make a card that can't be ran at max load?

This is the same with prime95. Some claim it can kill CPUs.
If what your testing is in full working order and is properly cooled your be fine. Occt, Kombuster, [email protected] and ati-tool all have had similar reports.
It's not the app, but the load on bad/failing hardware that dose it in.

I been using furnark for a long time. I used it on everything from old fx and ati 9xxx cards to 5xx and hd 5xxx cards and never once seen it killed a good card.

Anyway I reinstalled Windows and the problem is gone.

Glad you have it fixed.

I searched today for Furmark power virus to see if Nvidia had anything to say, I could not find that however I found it can over current and the card will reduce clock speed, I also chatted with EVGA and he said it was not advised to use Furmark when ask for more information he just said it causes issues.

On the net I found one person using Furmark on a GTX 970 and it only ran 75c, have you used Furmark on a new GPU?
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Furmark alone dose not kill cards, If you have a good working card and proper cooling. It's failing cards and cards with sub par cooling that it kills. Anything with the same level of load will kill a bad card as well.
It not to say that it's not hard on a good video card. But anything with the same level of load will do in a bad card.

The idea is that the heat and load is past what most cards can handle.
Why would amd or nvida make a card that can't be ran at max load?

This is the same with prime95. Some claim it can kill CPUs.
If what your testing is in full working order and is properly cooled your be fine. Occt, Kombuster, [email protected] and ati-tool all have had similar reports.
It's not the app, but the load on bad/failing hardware that dose it in.

I been using furnark for a long time. I used it on everything from old fx and ati 9xxx cards to 5xx and hd 5xxx cards and never once seen it killed a good card.

Anyway I reinstalled Windows and the problem is gone.
furmark can kill cards. When you have some time, search and give it a read. There is a reason why protections were put in place at the driver level to help prevent that. Both NVIDIA and AMD stated not to use it. If that changed, I missed the memo.

Would I benchmark with it for a comp? Absolutely. Would I stress test with it? Not a chance. :)

Glad a windows reinstall worked! ;)
 
Last edited:

wingman99

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
I could not find any professional sites on the web for newer GPU's that have a problem with Furmark. I found a discussion on this forum 2010-2013 and a GTX 275 with a blown VRM on the web.

I just got off the phone with EVGA tier 2 technical support and he said Furmark is fine to use also the EVGA OC Scanner X will do artifact scanning, benchmarking tools, GPU vitals information, CPU burn in utility.

I have used both Furmark and OC Scanner X and they seem to me to do the same thing.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
I still won't touch it with a 10' pole. If you would like to risk it, that is of course your choice. I prefer to stick with Unigine Heaven and Valley Extreme. Those temps are much more realistic and for my uses (gaming) It has never failed me.

Its the same reason I stay the heck away from the latest version of P95... OVERKILL. AIDA64 works just fine on my PC for my uses. :)
 

ATMINSIDE

Sim Racing Aficionado Co-Owner
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
I have no clue...sorry.

But stop using furmark. It's a 'power virus' and can kill cards. Use unigine heaven or valley to test stability and max temps.

+1

Unigine dose not like alot of the old crap I bench. It's too new.
Anyway if the 2 cards were damaged from furmark, it would be a first for me. I been using furmark since it came out.

I seem to be having the same problem with every card that crashes with overclocked ram in the system. Weather it crashed with furmark of something else.
Also the motherboard took a dump so I'll be setting up a new system. The problem should be gone after that.


The really odd thing is that I can use a different app to OC the ram and it's fine until the card's ram gets unstable.
I installed powerstrip,Rivatuner and nvtune and there were fine until the card became unstable.

How does furmark kill a card, don't Graphics card have thermal throttling?

Furmark alone dose not kill cards, If you have a good working card and proper cooling. It's failing cards and cards with sub par cooling that it kills. Anything with the same level of load will kill a bad card as well.
It not to say that it's not hard on a good video card. But anything with the same level of load will do in a bad card.

The idea is that the heat and load is past what most cards can handle.
Why would amd or nvida make a card that can't be ran at max load?

This is the same with prime95. Some claim it can kill CPUs.
If what your testing is in full working order and is properly cooled your be fine. Occt, Kombuster, [email protected] and ati-tool all have had similar reports.
It's not the app, but the load on bad/failing hardware that dose it in.

I been using furnark for a long time. I used it on everything from old fx and ati 9xxx cards to 5xx and hd 5xxx cards and never once seen it killed a good card.

Anyway I reinstalled Windows and the problem is gone.

Glad you have it fixed.

I searched today for Furmark power virus to see if Nvidia had anything to say, I could not find that however I found it can over current and the card will reduce clock speed, I also chatted with EVGA and he said it was not advised to use Furmark when ask for more information he just said it causes issues.

On the net I found one person using Furmark on a GTX 970 and it only ran 75c, have you used Furmark on a new GPU?

I could not find any professional sites on the web for newer GPU's that have a problem with Furmark. I found a discussion on this forum 2010-2013 and a GTX 275 with a blown VRM on the web.

I just got off the phone with EVGA tier 2 technical support and he said Furmark is fine to use also the EVGA OC Scanner X will do artifact scanning, benchmarking tools, GPU vitals information, CPU burn in utility.

I have used both Furmark and OC Scanner X and they seem to me to do the same thing.

Straight from the Shrimp's mouth:
http://classicplatforms.com/main/forum/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=9001&p=119283&hilit=furmark#p119283
 
OP
S

saturn

Disabled
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
I still won't touch it with a 10' pole. If you would like to risk it, that is of course your choice. I prefer to stick with Unigine Heaven and Valley Extreme. Those temps are much more realistic and for my uses (gaming) It has never failed me.

I don't see that much of a temp difference with my gx2 and furmark and Heaven.
Grab any old crappy gpu and run a much newer benchmark or game and your see a similar load and temps on the card. I find that anything that stresses a gpu to the point that your getting less then 5fsp will have similar temps as furmark.

I searched today for Furmark power virus to see if Nvidia had anything to say, I could not find that however I found it can over current and the card will reduce clock speed, I also chatted with EVGA and he said it was not advised to use Furmark when ask for more information he just said it causes issues.
I don't think nvidia ever made a statement about it. ATI/AMD has.

On the net I found one person using Furmark on a GTX 970 and it only ran 75c, have you used Furmark on a new GPU?
The newest cards I tired it on was a his 5850 and gtx580. I can't recall the 580 temps, but the 5850 was like 70c ish.