• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cascade and K8 ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

EluSiOn

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2002
Location
SC, USA
How well Cascade will perform on K8 CPU?

I remember Cathar said something about P4 IHS will serve as an obstacle preventing the heat quickly tranfer from cpu die to the waterblock. So with IHS on, Cascade will perform just like WW, and nikhsub1 said if IHS is removed, the temp probably will drop 4c, is that also true for K8?

in addition, has anyone succeed removing K8's IHS?
 

gusgizmo

Disabled
Joined
Aug 10, 2003
Location
Kona, Hawaii
i dont think that any waterblock would do much better than another when operating with a heatspreader. and you should be able to remove the IHS unless its like the prescott and soldered on.
 
OP
EluSiOn

EluSiOn

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2002
Location
SC, USA
drill through IHS :eek:

i think that thread is too much for me.... :rolleyes:

my basic question is still remain... am I better off to remove the IHS on K8 using Cascade? if so... how do I procceed removing a K8 IHS?
 

Cathar

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Any waterblock works better to cool a CPU without the IHS. The Cascade should give great temperatures either way. If you remove the IHS, it's not specifically because the Cascade requires you to, it's because the IHS "adds" about 4-6C to the CPU's temperature, and this is true for many cooling solutions, and not specific to the Cascade.
 
OP
EluSiOn

EluSiOn

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2002
Location
SC, USA
ok... i guess... intel and amd is being a dumbass buy putting on those IHS.....
 

nikhsub1

Unoriginal Macho Moderator
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Location
Los Angeles
Yuriman said:
Would I be able to use the current cascade mounting holes for a K8, or would I need an adapter?
You need the adapter. Cathar has them, they are aluminum top plates that will suit a P4 and a K8.
 

sandman001

Just Freeze It
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
EluSiOn said:
ok... i guess... intel and amd is being a dumbass buy putting on those IHS.....

No, they are making it harder to crack the core, which reduces the amount o fRMA's they get.

It's a smart move. The heat of a P4/A64 is still concentrated in the middle of the heatspreader, so the cascade/WW still cools the right spot.
 

snowwie

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2003
Location
New Jersey
sandman001 said:


No, they are making it harder to crack the core, which reduces the amount o fRMA's they get.

It's a smart move. The heat of a P4/A64 is still concentrated in the middle of the heatspreader, so the cascade/WW still cools the right spot.

exactly, the reason you get lesser performance is because of the added TIM joint (though maybe this is less of an issue now that there is apparently a better joint, but we have little information on this as of yet, and it is still a TIM joint), and the fact that the added 1.5mm copper thickness defeats much of the design of the cascade/WW/RBX/thin-base-blocks.

As a matter of fact, the IHS, despite its name, has nothing to do with "spreading heat". It is to protect the core, and that is all. There is an overclockers article that illustrates the point that all the heat from a P4 core is still concentrated on the area of the die.

edit:
here it is

http://www.overclockers.com/articles708/
 
Last edited: