• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Celeron 766 @ 100 MHz FSB

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Wunder

Registered
I want to up the FSB on my Celeron 766 to 100 MHz, what do i need?
I'm new to overclocking so any advice would be appreciated.

Phil

I much doubt you will run at a 100mhz fsb with air cooling, you would need a really good peltier with water cooling, it isn't economical cooling celerons with peltiers as if you got to 1.1ghz it would only be about as fast as a 900mhz p3, and you could get a p3 700 and over clock it to 933mhz-1ghz+ for less money that would out perform it and be less work

OP
W

Wunder

Registered
But my BX mobo dont support setting of PCI divider, so all of my PCI cards probably wont work @ 133 MHz FSB with P3 700.
Besides ive seen loads of posts about people running C600 @ more than 1 Gig FC!!!
Logically my 766 should be more oc-able than a 600...

dimmreaper

Wunder (Apr 05, 2001 05:10 p.m.):
But my BX mobo dont support setting of PCI divider, so all of my PCI cards probably wont work @ 133 MHz FSB with P3 700.
Besides ive seen loads of posts about people running C600 @ more than 1 Gig FC!!!
Logically my 766 should be more oc-able than a 600...
Well logic can be a ***** sometimes. The P6 .18u chips are difficult to get past 1GHz period. But I think you could hypothetically get the celeron to 100MHz FSB with some killer super cooling (water cooling and a 118W peltier ought to do it), but I'ts not worth the effort IMHO.

OP
W

Wunder

Registered
Already plotting on a home made water cooler with a car radiator and some killer waterpump and copper cooler block...

Are there such things as >200 W peltiers?

OP
W

Wunder

Registered
Is a switched PSU a must for peltiers?