• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Celeron D and 875P chipset...Will it work?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

IceCoolJay

Registered
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
I was just wondering if the new Celeron D chips can be used on a intel 875P chipset. I have a IC7 based on the 875P and would like to know if i can use a Celeron D cpu on it.
 

mtnbikerjerry

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Location
Aliso Viejo, California
IceCoolJay said:
I was just wondering if the new Celeron D chips can be used on a intel 875P chipset. I have a IC7 based on the 875P and would like to know if i can use a Celeron D cpu on it.


That is a good question to ask your motherboard manufacturer. I am sure it could be supported but I am not sure about the lower voltage that the Celeron D could possibly offer.

If your board is an Abit, I would post that question in the Abit Forums at the Abit website.

If not, I would check with the manufacturer and send that same question to them.

Or you can take a risk like many people do here at overclockers.com and see what happens.

Up to you. In all honesty, I do not think you want to do that. Ask around first like you have to see if anyone else has tried it.

I am sure that the 875 could support the celeron D. In fact some of the Abit motherboards for the 865 and 875 support the lower voltage prescott pentium 4 socket 478's.

Once again, do check with the manufacturer of your motherboard. The manual will not tell you anything, you have to email, call them or post in a manufacturer forum.

I hope this helps.
 
OP
I

IceCoolJay

Registered
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Oh, i dont think voltages will be a problem. I bought myself a 3.2E SL7KC and the recommended voltage for that is about 1V only on the intel spec sheet but on the box it says 1.4V. I have it running on an IC7 without a problem.

I think the celeron Ds are the same. Voltages are rated around 1V but on the box it says 1.4V. I dont think any motherboard besides some gigabyte motherboards go down to 1V Vcore.

Just want to make sure before i decide to get one.
 

Lancelot

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
Location
the Netherlands
Celeron-D is just a Prescott CPU so it will work on current i865/875 boards. I dunno exactly about the lower Vcore support but I do know the lowest Vcore available in BIOS setup of Abit boards is only the default of the particular chip it's running. My 2.8E gives 1.3875Vcore as a minimum setting in BIOS and my 3.2E gives 1.3625V so it seems these boards do support lower Voltages. Check you mainboard manufacterer's site for BIOS updates...
 

mtnbikerjerry

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Location
Aliso Viejo, California
Lancelot said:
Celeron-D is just a Prescott CPU so it will work on current i865/875 boards. I dunno exactly about the lower Vcore support but I do know the lowest Vcore available in BIOS setup of Abit boards is only the default of the particular chip it's running. My 2.8E gives 1.3875Vcore as a minimum setting in BIOS and my 3.2E gives 1.3625V so it seems these boards do support lower Voltages. Check you mainboard manufacterer's site for BIOS updates...

I guess that may work then. Abit will just have to update its BIOS's to support these new D series Celerons.

I would love to replace a Celeron D into my Abit BH7 board if they come out with 3Ghz and above 533mhz Celeron D's

Wonder if anyone has tried to overclock these Celeron D's yet?
 

jtf2

Registered
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Location
Toronto, Canada
I have a 2.4gig Celeron D that is doing 3.26 at default voltage. Not a bad CPU for $100Can seeing as how its doing 3.2, with 256k cache and 760FSB :D
 

TheBadBoy

Registered
Joined
Dec 12, 2004
I'm getting stable 3.6Ghz (200Mhz*18) with a Celeron-D 2.4Ghz with stock HSF but using Arctic Silver 5 instead of the thermal pad, I'm using core voltage of 1.40V. I get no errors in Prime95 or MemTest86+ until I go to 3.8Ghz. But 3.6Ghz is ideal since thats with a 200Mhz bus for DDR400 RAM with PAT enabled and above a 200Mhz bus PAT is turned off. At 3.6Ghz I'm getting CPU temperature under 55C under Prime95 super-load conditions, under normal conditions I get 40-50C CPU.