• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cely 1.3a doesnt like more voltage ???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

davefred99

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Location
Southern Californis
I have been trying like hell to get my Cely 1.3a to overclock past 117fsb to at least 124fsb so I can use a divider of 4 but so far it just aint happening. I have increase the voltage both with a wire trick and in the bios but this chip don,t like any voltage above 1.6v core. Everytime I try more at any speed it freezes up. Is this just a bad chip or what. I do not believe it is a heat problem as @ the fastest stable speeds of 117fsb or 1521mhz it runs @ 31c idle and between 35~38c load. It is not my motherboard either because as you can see in my sig. below I can run my [email protected] (160fsb) no problem in the same board with the same memory chip.

Maybe I am expecting too much from this chip but I thought I should be able to do a little better. For now I have put the celly back in my old Motherboard and am running it @ 1456mhz (112fsb) and set the memory in the bios to host clk + 33 that way at least my memory is runnning @ 150mhz.

I am about to give up on the 1.3a and go buy a 1.1a or 1.2a cely and start over. I want a system that runs @ at least 1500mhz with an Fsb of 133mhz or better. Any suggestions are welcome
 

ol' man

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
davefred99 said:
I have been trying like hell to get my Cely 1.3a to overclock past 117fsb to at least 124fsb so I can use a divider of 4 but so far it just aint happening. I have increase the voltage both with a wire trick and in the bios but this chip don,t like any voltage above 1.6v core. Everytime I try more at any speed it freezes up. Is this just a bad chip or what. I do not believe it is a heat problem as @ the fastest stable speeds of 117fsb or 1521mhz it runs @ 31c idle and between 35~38c load. It is not my motherboard either because as you can see in my sig. below I can run my [email protected] (160fsb) no problem in the same board with the same memory chip.

Maybe I am expecting too much from this chip but I thought I should be able to do a little better. For now I have put the celly back in my old Motherboard and am running it @ 1456mhz (112fsb) and set the memory in the bios to host clk + 33 that way at least my memory is runnning @ 150mhz.

I am about to give up on the 1.3a and go buy a 1.1a or 1.2a cely and start over. I want a system that runs @ at least 1500mhz with an Fsb of 133mhz or better. Any suggestions are welcome

Does the box say it is a Philli chip. If so you got a good chip and it should be good for 1600MHz. Get back to us. I don't trust any other boards except the ABIT ST6 and maybe a few others ASUS...... GB.
 
OP
D

davefred99

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Location
Southern Californis
Here are the markings on my chip.
Phillipines 1300/256/100/1.5v
SN# 7143a858-1175, Celeron sl5yr

I can not even get it to post above 1.6v and it runs just fine @ 1.55 v @117 fsb. But unable to run stable above that @ any voltage. I would have thought that at 124/4 it would at least post since the Pci/Agp would be closer to spec. By the way I tried all the way up to 133fsb @ 1.8v. I think maybe thats just all this particular chip is capable off.

Any other Ideas ?? Thanks
 

jazztrumpet216

Senior @ss
Joined
Sep 23, 2001
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
I have the same problem with my PIII and my Athlon... my Athlon will run [email protected] just fine but when bumped to 1.9 at the SAME SPEED, it will crash after 15 minutes of SETI. It's not a heat error, as temps stay in the mid-40's (high but not bad). My PIII cannot run 1200 no matter what voltage... but at 1187 I can have it running at 1.7V (default is 1.75), and at 1.8V, it will crash.
 

ol' man

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
I have seen to many of these chips do very well. I would say your mobo is the problem. I sent a cel-t 1.0a that I know would do 1450MHz/145fsb to a guy and he can barely get it stable at 133fsb. I would say the problem lies elsewhere! This is the first time I have heard of someone using the MSI board for OC'n this chip. The reason maybe is cause it is not good for OC'n .13u chips, this is possible. You should have got the ST6 for a for sure thing, sorry that is the best I can do right now.

What are you using for a heatsink? Is it the retail HS. If it is then you will not hit 1600MHz or if you do it will only be for a few minutes. If you are using the thermal pad and retail HS, well there is possibly alot of your problem! You should not trust your temps, they seem way too low for what you are running at! You gotta give us some more info about this setup to really help you much!
 
OP
D

davefred99

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Location
Southern Californis
Ol'man
I was hoping to here from you as you seem to be somewhat of the expert here. As t my oc,ing of the tuly 1.3a all of my attempts over 112 were with the abit vh6t mobo. I am using a cooler master hsf w/ac3 I also have two 80cm case fans with that setup. I believe that the temps I am getting with mbm5 and my bios are accurate because they are about the same in both my abit and msi mobo,s .

You are absolutley right that the MSI mobo is no good for oc,ing. I bought the abit for that and just decided to recycle my MSI as as spare system for general use That is why I put the cely back in it @ 112fsb @1.5v).

The Abit vh6t seams to like my [email protected] and will run the Celly @117fsb @ 1.55v but no more. Maybe the Via chip set in the Abit just doesn,t like the Cely 1.3a. I can get the cely to post @ 120mhz @1.6v but windows 98se won't load. I do plan on a better fsf like a volcano 7 or something just for kicks.

By the way did you read my post on fsb/divider/memory speed. I would like to here your take on that as I am still not sure what effect setting the memory to host +33 has on overall performance when using FSb speeds below 123 and a divider of 3.

I'm a stuburn old man too! and will keep trying if you think its not the chip.
 

ol' man

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
I would use the vh6-t. I am using a ST6 and I soldered the pins on the back of the mobo to run a 1.675v default instead of 1.475/1.5. You can also do this with the wire trick but I like solder better. You need more juice on the vh6-t I would say! I even need 1.65v at room temps to hit 1600MHz and this is with a very good cooler, much better than the retail HS. In other words your cooling is not cutting it!
 
OP
D

davefred99

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Location
Southern Californis
Ok, You win !
I will be getting a better CPU cooler in the next few days and try again. I realy believe that I would be better off with a 1.1a or 1.2a because they seem to do a little better on the FSB side and overall its easier to keep everything within specs for the PCI,AGP & memory.

I am shooting for the best possible tuly oc with an FSb of 1.33~1.50 air cooled ,which would would you recommend? I will probably by a new CPU after I fully test the 1.3a in the vh6t and retire the 1.3a to my old MSI Mobo @ 1456mhz (112mhz) since it is really pretty good everyday computer.
 

takiwa

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2001
Dave,

I use a VH6T also, and so does Pinky...both of us had major problems breaking the 1/4 divider barrier w/o a proper burn-in on our chips...have you burned the chip in yet? Try jacking the voltage all the way up, and running your FSB at 66 for a few days...but make sure your cooling issues are right first...
 

Richardito

Registered
Joined
Feb 16, 2002
Location
Cordova, TN
davefred99 said:
Ok, You win !
I will be getting a better CPU cooler in the next few days and try again. I realy believe that I would be better off with a 1.1a or 1.2a because they seem to do a little better on the FSB side and overall its easier to keep everything within specs for the PCI,AGP & memory.

I am shooting for the best possible tuly oc with an FSb of 1.33~1.50 air cooled ,which would would you recommend? I will probably by a new CPU after I fully test the 1.3a in the vh6t and retire the 1.3a to my old MSI Mobo @ 1456mhz (112mhz) since it is really pretty good everyday computer.
Since the TCelerons have a glass ceiling of aroung 1.5-1.6GHz's I would either recommend a 1.0A (10*150=1500MHz) or a 1.1A (11*140= 1540MHz). Since I don't recommend running a FSB of 150MHz for everyday use, the golden choice is a 1.1A Celeron for pure MHz fun.
 
OP
D

davefred99

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Location
Southern Californis
Thanks for all the replies,
I got a new copper heatsink/Fan today and put it on the tuly in my old mobo and am burning in my chip for a few days. I bought a Vantec hsf and it sounds like a hair dryer, but so far drops my temps way down about -5 deg from my old set up. its idling @ 28deg right now. Hope to swap it all back into my vh6t this week some time and try to see if it helps. I also plan on vid pin to 1.7v. Maybe with some luck I can hit at least 124fsb/4. I,m still leaning towards a 1.1a in the future as still think a higher fsb is better in the long run.
As far as 1500-1600 tops for celey/tulys I think the 1.3,s and new1.4s when they get here will do 1700 and above with some luck? Some of the 1.2s are already doing that!

Like an eveready bunny I just keep going & going & going.