• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Certifications for web dev?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Suppressor1137

So, im 25 years old, i have a high school diploma, and attended community college pursuing an electrical engineering degree, until I realized that wasn't quite what I wanted to do.

I have had a very strong passion for Computers since i was about 7 years old. Some call me an enthusiast.

About 5 years ago, I started doing professional web development utilizing the basics, html5 ,css3 php, and JavaScript, with my skillset focused into css3.

I have the ability to convert entire websites into fully responsive layouts, this is my strongest and most practiced skill.

I used the cms WordPress in almost all of the websites I worked on, mainly because that is what the company I did work for was able to sell.

I have no formal training in the field, I'm completely self taught.

Does anyone have any pointers they can give me to get hired in a web developer position? The company i worked for was a startup that afaik went under, and I don't know if I can claim the websites that I worked on for building a portfolio.

would getting the a+cert or any others be worth it to pursue web development?

Last edited:

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Moved your post to a new thread instead of one over 14 years old necro'd by a spammer.

I dont know much about web dev, but i can tell yoy A+ has literally nothing to do with it. A+ is basic elementary hardware. You dont need to know that to web dev. ;)

Considering looking at web jobs and see what certs and knowledge they need...

TechWizard

I'm just a few years older than you and followed an eerily similar path you described.

My dad got a Leading Edge 486SX when I was 4 and I got hooked on computers from that point.