• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

CF R9 380x or get a GTX 980???????? (maybe a R9 390x??)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

q9650

so i just built a new computer (actually its LGA775 but its new to me, lol) and i seem to have underestimated my CPU. My R9 380x is bottlenecking, but i just bought it :facepalm:. so im wondering if its worth buying another to crossfire or should i cut my losses and invest in a better single GPU like a GTX 980 or R9 390x? Also im new to CF, so if anyone has experience and can tell me whats good or bad about crossfire its appreciated. Thanks!

do not buy a second card

for starters that psu is not enough and looking at it online, is a pos, its not gonna put out anywhere near 700w

I know the power supply wont due, it came with the case. I planned on buying a new one regardless of my decision. So aside from that do you have any reason not to buy a second card?

You're already bottlenecking. A second, or faster, card won't gain you anything.

What you need is to get off of 775 and onto something halfway modern.

You're already bottlenecking. A second, or faster, card won't gain you anything.

^^^^ THIS ^^^^
+2

time to trash that system. It is already putting a glass ceiling on your performance. You could buy another card and get a performance bump, but IMO, its not worth the hassle nor money to get even less out of a second card.

i tested to see if it was a CPU vs GPU bottleneck by playing Witcher 3 at max settings, then dropping the resolution. I gained 12FPS when lowering the resolution, that means its a GPU bottleneck right?

i tested to see if it was a CPU vs GPU bottleneck by playing Witcher 3 at max settings, then dropping the resolution. I gained 12FPS when lowering the resolution, that means its a GPU bottleneck right?