• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

chipset cooling on A7V

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PDL

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
OH-Heartland of the USA
Here's one for someone to ponder. I have been trying to get past the 1 gig mark with my Duron700 without the temp going over 50c. Well, I'm almost there. I found an old 486 cpu HSF and took the fan off and mounted it to the top of the VIA Vt8363 heatsink. I notice that this chip also controls the agp and PC133 memory. Now I am running [email protected], [email protected] and [email protected]. Temp is steady at 51c on the CPU.
I had touched the heatsink on this chip several time lately and it is always just slightly warm. My next step will be to remove it from the chip and apply some thermal grease and maybe try a little higher FSB. Also plan to cut a hole in the mainboard mounting plate behind both this chip and the CPU socket. I figure it can't be cooling it very much but if that is all it takes to get to FSB=110 then I'll try. My previous attempts at getting to 107 resulted in no POST.
Anyone else try this??

Above w/(BALANCED)FOP-32, 256meg Kingston Value Ram(Got cas2 Crutial on the way)

105x9.5 just ain't enough!!
 

outhouse

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
Location
Auburn California
dad (May 27, 2001 09:54 p.m.):
Here's one for someone to ponder. I have been trying to get past the 1 gig mark with my Duron700 without the temp going over 50c. Well, I'm almost there. I found an old 486 cpu HSF and took the fan off and mounted it to the top of the VIA Vt8363 heatsink. I notice that this chip also controls the agp and PC133 memory. Now I am running [email protected], [email protected] and [email protected]. Temp is steady at 51c on the CPU.
I had touched the heatsink on this chip several time lately and it is always just slightly warm. My next step will be to remove it from the chip and apply some thermal grease and maybe try a little higher FSB. Also plan to cut a hole in the mainboard mounting plate behind both this chip and the CPU socket. I figure it can't be cooling it very much but if that is all it takes to get to FSB=110 then I'll try. My previous attempts at getting to 107 resulted in no POST.
Anyone else try this??

Above w/(BALANCED)FOP-32, 256meg Kingston Value Ram(Got cas2 Crutial on the way)

105x9.5 just ain't enough!!

Thermal compound on the nothbridge is a must and if your going for high FSB then a bigger HSF might be in order too they have shown that you can get more stability with a cooler northbridge. You can cut down a HSF from a cpu HSF i got mine for 5 bucks as far as cutting a hole in the MBtray to install a fan if you do install a small enough fan so that it does not stick out of the case theres 2 reasons for this 1 you dont need a big fan back there and 2 if you do use a big fan it has been found that you tend to cool the thermistor that checks your temps and your temps will show inacurate readings. I tried the big fan route and it did not help me get 1 more MHZ as far as raising FSB

Ive sent a pic so you can see a 5 dollar HSF that kicks but
 

YardPig

Registered
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
The chipset is not the limiting factor on the a7v. I lapped the stock hsf and installed a fan on it. This yielded me next to no return. The real ripper is using a 486HSF on the clock generator. This allowed an honest 110fsb and was capable of 115 on the edge.
I have now upgraded to an a7v133, so this is no longer a real issue. I am currently using my old a7v as a way to mock-up my watercooling rig. The pic should show the hsf installed. You will need to notch it out to clear a resistor can that sits 1-2mm higher than the genny. If you do-not notch the heat sink, it will not sit flat. Sorry about the hi-res full page photo, I don't like bandwidth hogs as much as the next guy.......

Take care
 
OP
PDL

PDL

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
OH-Heartland of the USA
YardPig: Was your upgrade to the A7V133 all you expected?
That is the upgrade I have been considering.
For now, just to see if I can get any more from my Duron700 with a higher FSB.
Would you, or did you, put a HSF on the clock chip of the A7V133?
 

proze

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2000
Location
Pretoria, RSA
the clock gen on the a7v133 shouldn't need to be cooled, cos it's made to generate faster signals.

i also have an a7v, and i put a small copper pentium 1 hsf on my clock gen, but it didn't get me any more mhz at all. it seems to have helped a lot of people, though.
 
OP
PDL

PDL

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
OH-Heartland of the USA
Ouch!! that's hot!
Thought I burnt the back of my finger touching the clock gen chip.
Do you think that if I used some thermal tape to hold the heatsink onto the chip that it would stay there? Even with the heat that thing generates? Throuble I am having is to figure out how to get a heatsink and/or fan to stay put in that area. Kinda tough with a vertical mainboard.
I wonder why the manufacturer didn't think a heatsink was needed here! Sure seems to be needed to me.
 

YardPig

Registered
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
dad (May 29, 2001 09:37 p.m.):
YardPig: Was your upgrade to the A7V133 all you expected?
That is the upgrade I have been considering.
For now, just to see if I can get any more from my Duron700 with a higher FSB.
Would you, or did you, put a HSF on the clock chip of the A7V133?

I would highly recommend it. The performance/stability increase was intense. My 700 Duron on the a7v would see 978 stable with my cooling mods. I have not tried it on my a7v133 as I run an 800 @ 1072 at the moment. When the watercooling rig is finished, you bet your bottom dollar I will try both chips...

No, I never did end up putting a hsf on the a7v133. It's at 143 and the clock genny is cool to the touch. It honestly helps the original a7v out radically.
With the a7v133, I would recommend removing the chipset HSF and lapping it then applying some compound. The factory applies NO compound and it does get hot at elevated clock speeds. The heat sink is shaped like a potatoe chip and does not contact the chipset very well at all.
Like the original a7v, you must choose quality ram.

Take care