• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

chipset

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RIPUS

Registered
Joined
May 6, 2003
Location
Mtl Canada
hi guys

i was looking for information about chipset and i didn't find what y whant to know

let's discribe my machine before starting asking annything

ASUS A7A 266
XP 1700+
Volcano 9
pc 2700 kingston
IBM GXP 60 40 gigs
GF4 ti 4200 8X 64meg
fortissimo II
2X linksys 10/100
power supply 400w

The chipset of this mobo is an Alimagik (piece of s..t)

now, what I whant to know is :

1- it is possible to tweak the BIOS to get de devider 1/5 ?
2- there is some other way i can tweak the northridge ?

My problem come from my HDD. He don't let me overclock my FSB. He freeze and never let me go over 138. If i can get the 1/5 i will be able to go to 166 (the top of this mobo) whitout killing my HDD and stressing my other component.

If someone got info or answer about this, let me know !

Thanks
 

Crazy Jayhawk

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2001
Location
Hutchinson, KS
I know the Iwill XP333 has 1/5 and 1/6 divisors and an AliMagik chipset, but I think the extra divisors are ones that Iwill added themselves. They used a different clock generator chip from normal.

Unless your board uses that same chip, you probably won't be able to get the 1/5 divisor.
 
OP
R

RIPUS

Registered
Joined
May 6, 2003
Location
Mtl Canada
thank's crazy but the Iwill got, if my memory is good, the new Alimagik II and i got only the Alimagik I. Drive me crazy just to think can't find a solution for this.....
 

Bull

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
I had this board a while back. I don't think that you can do much with it. I don't think Asus even updates the Bios anymore. You might want to do a search for it here in the forums as I know alot was asked about it when it came out but I don't think you can get a 1/5 divisor. I think that I put a fan on the Northbridge to be able to overclock it more. I don't think that it helped much.
 
OP
R

RIPUS

Registered
Joined
May 6, 2003
Location
Mtl Canada
thank's Bull

BTW, i didn't read a lot about it but, does a IDE RAID controller card control the FSB to the IDE ?
 
OP
R

RIPUS

Registered
Joined
May 6, 2003
Location
Mtl Canada
Finaly Crazy, you where right !

they use the same chipset than mine !

plus they got a lot of interesting option i don't have. i'm just looking now to get a way to put those option (at least only the divisor 1/5) in my BIOS

thank's again for the tip !;)
 

gahdzila

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2002
Location
West Monroe, Louisiana
I don't think there's any way to add a feature like that to a motherboard, unless it's a feature the manufacturer supports.

BTW...I had the same board for a while (still have it actually...just not using it anywhere right now). It really is a good, stable board, IMO. Just didn't overclock very well. I had the EXACT same problem, couldn't get the FSB over 137 or so. I was running Crucial PC2100 that does 155 at CAS 2 on my nForce2 board...so I know it wasn't the RAM holding me back. Probably like you said...either HDD or NIC or something like that not liking being very far out of spec.

If you're considering buying a new motherboard, you should look at the nForce2 chipset motherboards. They don't have that divisor problem at all. The PCI bus is locked at 33 mhz, no matter how high you push the FSB. I highly recommend the Asus A7N8X.

oh...and...

Welcome to the forums!!!!!!
 
OP
R

RIPUS

Registered
Joined
May 6, 2003
Location
Mtl Canada
thank's for the welcome call and the tip gahdzila !

yeah, i'm looking for the nforce2 since i realize the problem to overclock mine. I was suppose to buy it this w/e but i receive a gift by mail. I got to pay my plate on my car.....

I was looking for the Abit board, think is a good one for overcloking ?

i don't whant ASUS annymore, they made good board but support is too poor....
 

gahdzila

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2002
Location
West Monroe, Louisiana
I was looking for the Abit board, think is a good one for overcloking ?
I read a bunch of reviews just before I bought mine. I've never personally worked with any other nforce2 boards (just my Asus), but they all performed nearly identically, and were very very close in how high they overclocked...close enough, IMO, to call it a fluke that one overclocked better than another one. The main differences between them are in their features (RAID, onboard sound, etc etc)

Try a google search for "nforce2 roundup" and you'll find loads of reviews comparing the different boards.