• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Clear Case Questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

o-clock-547

I am thinking of building a clear case using Plexi Glass. I have no experience. To all of those who do have experience; how do i hold the plexi glass together? Screws Glue? Will i have to ground my case? How should i cut the plexi glass? Straight Lines, Circles Squares? It difficult to construct? What problems will i encounter that i will not expect? About how much will it cost me? Is it worth it?

Thanx

IFMU

The Xtreme Senior Nobody
Many vary on what to use. Some have used glue of sorts, others have used screws, and others, other stuff.. I am trying to find a thread that had the type of glue that works best for this, but Im not having any kind of luck yet. Cant remember where I read it in here or anything for that matter. Other than it was called something like EMC, AMC, ECM or something.... If I find it I will post it and let you know.

OP
O

o-clock-547

Yah i heard it was edc. I'm not sure though. I'm actually thinking of usin l shape metal sides to bolt the plexi glass together.

IFMU

The Xtreme Senior Nobody
Yea thats it, couldnt remember the name of it... but the thread that I read that in is here

and this is a qoute from that thread....

blckhawk said:
The case is welded together with EDC. You can get it at the hardware store or any place else that sells plexiglass. It's called by some other names as well. You basically clamp your pieces together put a couple of drops of EDC, wait a little bit and BAM! It's welded together. As far as craftmanship is envolved, practice, practice, practice. I have several tributes:) to my craftmanship taking up space in my shop:)

blckhawk

Only thing I know of thats been claimed to work real well and not leave alot of extra crappola on it...