• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

*Clusters & Stripes: Benchmark Results*

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Vio1

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Location
Toronto Canada
Hi, I decided to take it upon myself to figure out how my hard drives perform with the many different cluster/stripe combinations available.

What I did: Benchmarked my hard drives using:
1)Atto http://www.attotech.com/software/app1.html
2)HD Tach http://www.simplisoftware.com/Public/index.php?request=HdTach
3)PCmark2002 http://www.futuremark.com/products/pcmark2002/



VIEW RESULTS:

P1.jpg


T1.jpg
 
Last edited:
OP
V

Vio1

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Location
Toronto Canada
i also have 16 screenshots of the Atto benchmark for each of the cluster/stripe combinations (however i didnt know how I could post it)

I benchmarked two 36.7 GB raptors in Raid-0 with my CPU at the default speed of 2.4Ghz. See sig for the rest of the system specs.
 
OP
V

Vio1

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Location
Toronto Canada
Seems to me from these two benchmark results that the 16k stripe with 16k cluster is the best of both worlds.


Out of all the different variations of stripe/cluster, windows xp pro didnt load up faster or slower.

I used Partition Magic 8 to change cluster sizes, and I used Diskeeper 8 to defrag after every cluster change. I used Norton Ghost 2003 to load up an exact windows install every time I changed the stripe size.
 
Last edited:

nikhsub1

Unoriginal Macho Moderator
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Location
Los Angeles
The only problem with a large cluster size is the fact that it can waste a lot of space. All files less than 16k in size will take up 16k of space. a 17k file will take up 32k, a 33k file will take up 48k. You get the point. I always leave my cluster size at 4k and usually use a 16k stripe.
 

K1ll1nT1m3

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2002
Location
KC. Mo
Nice artical. I tried a new install on a 16/16 just to see, it was better. The read and write scores were much closer together, and a few tests showed an increase in scores.

Now I have a question. Does only PM8 have the ability to change cluster sizes? I am using PM7 and Drive Image, I cant reinstall my image without it deleting the partition I made. I can only install my image in a partition ( 4k ) that it was created in.