• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Complete noob needs help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

stratus_dresden

Registered
Hi guys,

I've recently decided to re-build my PC after my graphics card gave up on me and as its 3 years old its pretty out-dated. So far my list consists of the following (most of which I have already bought so changes can't be made):-

Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe Motherboard (bought)
AMD ATHLON 64 X2 3800 CPU (bought
Buffalo 512Mb PC3200 400Mhz (reused from old setup)

The only 2 things I haven't decided on yet are the graphics card and the CPU heatsink. My budget is £50/$100 for the graphics card and £40/$80 for the heatsink, what do you recomend? I've been looking at a XPERTVISION NVIDIA 8600GT 1GB and Zalman CNPS9700NT.

Edit. And just one quick question, what are the advantages of a 1Gb card over a 512Mb card?, one has lager memory while the other has a faster GPU speed.

Last edited:

netmask

So how can we help? Do you have anything specific in your mind? How much are you planing to spend? Oh also :welcome:

netmask

I think you should also go for at least 1gb of RAM or 2 if you can though modern games need at least that amount. I almost forgot to mention that if you want to save some money from the cooler for the graphics it would be better, a low range cooler can handle that processor with ease.

OP
S

stratus_dresden

Registered
I'm getting a big discount on the CPU because it dosn't come with a heatsink (which I would have replaced anyway), hence my need for one. I've just read a review on the COOLERMASTER HYPER TX2 and it got really good results so I'm going with this one, plus its only £18/$36.