• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Completely lost OCing 4790K

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Snott

Hello I am relatively new to overclock and I tried pushing my i7-4790K to 4,7Ghz and I got it working first at 1,3V Vcore with fast stress test (Intel Extreme Tuning Utility).
Then I reduced Vcore to 1,26 and was still working with intel stress test but not at all with prime95 so I reverted to stock.
With stock setting I got 4,4Ghz and ~1,27 Vcore, and 84°C on every core with prime95 (Smalls FFT s and 8 Threads on torture test) so this is very frustrating when reading you can get 4,8Ghz on this chip and I have already max temps on stock :/
My motherboard (Asus VII Ranger) got an automatic OC which I tried (4,6Ghz / 1,327 Vcore) and working fine through games, maybe a bit hot in summer (70°C max temp on core package, that's why I wanted to overclock myself and step down the Vcore), but trying prime95 again with the automatic OC got me 100°C on all core this time.

What should i do ? You are always suggesting using prime95 so ignoring the results would be a bad idea I guess
My CPU Cooler is an H100i V2 with 2x noctua industrial 3000RPM fans (I get 30°C on idle with motherboard OC, 65~70°C max through gaming)

Last edited:

Lochekey

Senior Pink Member
What cooler are you using? It looks like your cooling is the issue here.

OP
S

Snott

Hi it is an H100i v2, how could it be the cooler's fault ? I played an overwatch game before and got 59°C on highest temperature for CPU, 30°C idle

[email protected]

Hi it is an H100i v2, how could it be the cooler's fault ? I played an overwatch game before and got 59°C on highest temperature for CPU, 30°C idle

Try seeing if the cooler is seated correctly.