• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Computer Freezing and need to change memory

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

OldBiker

New to the board here and need some advice. I am a very old man that quit working on computer hardware over 20 years ago.

I have a system that was built for me last year that has been giving me problems constantly. The place that built it can not fix it, so I am trying to do it myself.

I work this system real hard and I have two problems with it. One is that I am a writer and after 3 to 4 hours of writing, I can not highlight a single word in my writing program, Internet Browser or even when using a terminal. When I try to highlight a single word or letter, it will end up highlighting an entire paragraph or page, instead of simply one word. When I try to click on a tab on my browser, it will open a new blank window instead of a tab. I don’t expect help here for that problem. I am simply explaining it as a symptom of one of the problems this machine give me.

The main area I need your help with is the freezing. In Linux, I have some “magic keys” that I can normally use to save data and reboot a computer when it is acting up, however when this thing does a hard freeze, the only thing I can do is a hard power down. Even the reset button on my case will not reboot it when it freezes.

• My MB is a 2379-A PRO (MS-7B48)
  • The shop replaced my original AMD processor with a Intel© Core™ i7-8700K CPU @ 3.70GHz × 6 CPU,
  • I recently replaced my power supply with an EVGA 750W Gold and that allowed me to work for a week without a freeze, but now it has frozen 3 times in 2 days.
  • I was originally running 3 storage devices, but I removed (2) 2 TB internal HDDs and (1) 2 Tb NAND chip. So now I am only running (1) new 2 Tb, HDD as a test.