• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Computer is beeping and won't start up!!!!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Agent Z

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Location
Helena, MT
i recently tried to install a Linksys 10/100 lan card in this old computer...it is a Pentium 500 and for some reason xp would not pick up the card...well i saw that the card was not in all the way and would not go all the way because the case was not letting it. well i unscrewed hte card from the metal deal that screws into the case and stuck it in that way...well the pc would not even start then...after that i took it out and now whenever i try to start the pc up again it beeps once then beeps like 6 times and then does nothing.....i cannot get a display up but i hear the Hardrive hummin and cranking away...HELP!!!
 
OP
Agent Z

Agent Z

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Location
Helena, MT
ohh ok
hmm...
let me see
ok there are 2 really fast beeps...break
then there are 8 kinda reagular beeps.... break
then 2 fast beeps....break
and 1 fast beep
 
Last edited:

Ridenow

Sneaky Moderator
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Location
Springfield, IL
Agent Z said:
well i saw that the card was not in all the way and would not go all the way because the case was not letting it.
someting not right here.
In most cases, beep codes mean something is not seated properly. Try taking out the NIC and see if it boots. If it does then the card may be bad, there may be a problem with the slot or it is just not in right.
I am confused when you said that the case was not letting it go in all the way. Without seeing it I can not say much, but my first though is that the case is damaged or you are not putting it in correctly. What color is the slot you are putting the card into? Is the slot longer than the connector on the card?
 
OP
Agent Z

Agent Z

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Location
Helena, MT
Re: Re: Computer is beeping and won't start up!!!!!

Ridenow said:

someting not right here.
In most cases, beep codes mean something is not seated properly. Try taking out the NIC and see if it boots. If it does then the card may be bad, there may be a problem with the slot or it is just not in right.
I am confused when you said that the case was not letting it go in all the way. Without seeing it I can not say much, but my first though is that the case is damaged or you are not putting it in correctly. What color is the slot you are putting the card into? Is the slot longer than the connector on the card?

the card is good becuase i stuck it into another machine and it works just fine...

i am putting the card into a pci slot it is just the chasi i guess...i have the NIC card out of the pc right now and it started beeping when i tool it out.....i do not have a camera right at the moment to show you..sorry
i have cheked everything like 20 times and i have no idea....i have checked all the ide cables and the power cable...made sure that that everything is in the right place...ugg this is sooo dumb:mad:
 

JasonKosi

Member
sounds like the chassis and the motherboard aren't meshing well together. Either the mobo is too far from the slot port or is too tall or short.

If the computer doesn't work without the card, I'd say that something may have been fried with the partial connection between the card and slot. You may want to try resetting CMOS.

Also, try removing everything except the CPU and HSF (even RAM). See if the beepcode changes. Add one item at a time, starting with RAM, then Vid card, then drive. Listen each time to see if the beepcode changes.
 

NewbiePerson

Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2001
If it won't start up at all, i'd say its something fairly serious.
Generally, video card, ram, or cpu would not be seated properly.
Your comp can post without anything else. What type of video card do you have. Is it pci? If it is try putting it in a different slot.
Good luck
 
OP
Agent Z

Agent Z

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Location
Helena, MT
ok thanks a lot...
I LOVE THE OC FORUM!!!!!

i will try this then i will get back to you guys...and girls
 

JimmyG

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Michigan
Your description sounded like you moved the card with the power on. I hope I'm wrong about this because if you did, you may have fried your mobo and other parts connected to it.

Please say it isn't so!!!
 
OP
Agent Z

Agent Z

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Location
Helena, MT
it isn't so....i think it is fixed but i had to reset the cmos because the idiot who owned it before put a bios password on it so i could not get in to set up the options...tonight i am going to set that all up an then i will get back to you...
thanks again!