• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cooling for Scorpio 668

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

komm

I'm pretty new to the cooling sector of computers, so I need a few suggestions on some case fans. I'm using the scorpio 668, and from what I can tell there are 5 case fan slots. 3 of them are occupied, and I'm not sure if using the other 2 will make any difference. I'll be basically using this for gaming. I'm building the computer, and here are the components come monday:

Athlon 64 3000+
Geforce 6800
512 PC3200 Corsair
Onboard sound (no biggy)
Raidmax Scorpio 668

Some plans on overclocking, but i'm more worried about building the computer right. It's my first time, and its going to be pretty damn hard, because I even have problems sticking PCI cards in the slots without freaking out. On a side question, is configuration or installing the components on the mobo harder?

I need some budget case fans, and on newegg there are over 500 to choose from. Oog. I'm expecting around 5-10 dollars for each, and I could care less on appearance (cathodes, clear fan, etc) , my case looks pretty awesome as it is. How loud the fans are doesn't matter much either, I'm using some sealed headphones. If using the 2 empty fan slots will make much of a difference, can anyone suggest a brand or specific fan?

nova7

durst

I have the Scorpio 668 case also. I bought some Vantec fans. They work pretty good. Though I could have bought some better ones, I wanted some UV reactant fans.

Question. I just realized there are two versions of this case. Do you have the sidways mounted hard drive bays? Or are they facing the same direction as the rest of your bays?

Snagle

Your story sounds a lot like mine was a little over a month ago except that it sounds like you have a lot more money to spend on parts :)