• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cooling Software

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Frost Byte

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
I was wondering if cooling software really works and how it works if it does. What are some good ones?
 

Blackearth

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Location
...alabama
you mean like waterfall, cpu idle and the like? i didnt have any luck with them or the one that came wtih asus probe.. . i think i remember reading somewhere that the cooling programs no longer work with newer procs, i dont really know though. . .maybe its just me?
 

outhouse

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
Location
Auburn California
They work fine but only to reduce idle temps it really does not help for temps under full load, also some programs are CPU specific like Intel or AMD I had rain, rain does not work with a AMD CPU make sure you get the rite one before using it, most can be found at www.tweakfiles.com

goodluck
 

merlins_wraith

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2000
Location
VA
I have never had any luck with those software programs. In fact I have developed a real hate for them. And they do nothing for you when your cpu is under heavy load and that is when you need it the most.

On the AMD side of the coin. From the A4 on, those type instructions have been included in the chip processes. So those programs are outdated for newer amd chips.
 

peewee

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2001
I On the AMD side of the coin. From the A4 on, those type instructions have been included in the chip processes. So those programs are outdated for newer amd chips.[/quote]

so the a4's should run cooler at idle temps right???
 

lonewolf1983

Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2001
Location
perth, Australia
the software works,but only at idle times
im using wpcredit to modify the registry and set this on
gives me about a 10 degree C drop at idle
(which isnt often go [email protected]!!)
and im running a new duron
so i dont know what those others were talking about it being inbuilt
 

ripper

Registered
Joined
May 17, 2001
Rain 2.0 does indeed work with AMD Processors.

I'm running a 1.0Gb T-bird at 1.40Gb on an Epox 8kta3 mobo.
Operating system is dual boot WinME/Win2k.

I needed Rain for WinME because the stop idle command was not operating. My cpu would run idle at 42C .

Once I installed Rain 2.0 my idle temps have dropped to ambient temp ~30C.

Rain does not recognize the CPU but that is just semantics. It doesn't stop the program from doing it's job. Install it anyway.

Heckfire man....live a little!!