• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Core 2 Duo E7500 Wolfdale

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

artboi

Alright guys, I have been reading and studying arduously the guides and suggestions given out by the experts and/or experienced of overclockers.com, so I decided that I had enough knowledge to try and overclock my system.

I am new to this overclocking business, but I managed to go long ways with all the things I've read in the website. My system is comprised of:

MB: MSI G41M-P34
CPU: CORE 2 DUO E7500 WOLFDALE 2.93GHZ (STOCK)
RAM: 2 x 4GB CORSAIR XMS3 1333MHZ
VIDEO: HD 6770 RADEON 1GB GDDR5
CASE: In Win Griffin Mid Tower

I am not using stock HSF, I bought a decent one and so far it keeps my system well below room temperature, and my case helps a lot as well. With this in my system I went ahead and overclocked the CPU and managed to reach 3.7GHZ with it, with the BIOS looking something like this:

CPU FSB: 341mhz x 11 = 3.75Ghz
DRAM FSB: 1091 Mhz (1:1.60 Ratio) 9-9-9-24 Clocks
DRAM V is in auto and it shows 1.535V
NB Voltage is in auto and it shows 1.115V
CPU VTT I raised it to 1.271V
CPU V I raised to 1.332V

The problem I have encountered now is an apparent limit at 3.75Ghz and quite frankly I am reluctant to raise the voltage on the CPU further since this is the first time doing overclocking. I am looking to reach 4.0Ghz, that's my only goal and I will be glad if I can make it happen with my current specs.

Thank you for your patience reading through my thread and thank you in advance for responding to it.

Clock ON! :attn:

To overclock higher, you would need either a G35, P35 or best would be a P45 motherboard as your G41 chipset motherboard is the overclocking factor atm. You've hit its FSB wall.