• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Core i7 860 attempting 4.2 ghtz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MilkSteak

Registered
To start things off I am new to overclocking so be gentle with extra lube. I am prime95 stable at 4.0 running blck at 200 with a 20x multiplier and tried to up it to 21x for 4.2 with no avail. Temps are not the issue at this point, prolimatech magahalems with push-pull, but voltage. I have increased vcore voltages up to the 1.5 something in the bios were the numbers go red and all others are on auto. The memory is on an xmp profile with the multiplier at 10x, it is 2000mhz rated memory. If I have to go to some insane voltage I am happy at 4.0 but if I am missing something let me know.

Attachments

• Overclock shot.jpg
    Overclock shot.jpg
    192 KB · Views: 265

Daddyjaxx

That is wayyy too much voltage. I don't believe those temps can be right either. 1.55v on an I7 with HT enabled would be coming close to the 90's with high end water. The 1156's may run a tad cooler, but not that much cooler.

dgb303

I'm thinking about taking my computer outside in the -10c weather to do some benchmarking...I'd like to try for 5Ghz particularly since there aren't all that many people it seems that have 1156's higher than 4Ghz.

OP
M

MilkSteak

Registered
Ok

This is where I am getting confused because I set the Vcore to be 1.44 and it jumps all around to almost 1.6 at full load. The temps are from running at 3 hours with small FFT so I think they are right unless I am having some issues with the MB reading wrong. The voltages run from 1.441 to 1.662 while watching CPUZ while running prime95 and think it could be one of my auto setting somewhere.

OP
M

MilkSteak

Registered
Well if you must know ambient in my house is 19 C because we are cheap and live in Michigan.

OP
M