• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Coretemp shows i5 750 (Lynfield) (ES)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Brutal-Force

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
I pulled up that ES means Engineering Sample.

In Wikipedia it says that this is a beta chip and that ES Chips are usually desirable.

Is this what I see in the FS: threads as Extra Spicy?

And what does this really mean to me?
 

nzaneb

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2008
ES does not always mean better. Especially if the chip has been through a stepping change. Each chip is linked to a specific engineer, they are not allowed to sell them. If Intel gets a hold of the serial number and traces the chip back to the engineer that let it leave their possession, then bye-bye job. And I supposed they could confiscate the chip, as it's Intel property... thus not allowed to be sold.

That's why they're usually listed as Extra Spicy
 
OP
Brutal-Force

Brutal-Force

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Hrm, maybe I should in fact pop out 4 Gigs of ram to see how far this puppy will go.
 

freeagent

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Location
Winnipeg!
ES used to mean greatness, not so much anymore these days.. I have an ES E8600 that is a pig for voltage, needing more then most C0's :D
 

PolRoger

Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
I think it is interesting that your chip does not show ES in CPUZ only in CoreTemp. I have two ES chips and they are both identified as ES in CPUZ.
 
OP
Brutal-Force

Brutal-Force

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Well I do have the HT [enable/disable] option, but the i5 doesn't have hyperthreading right?

The box it came in says i5 750. :shrug:
 
OP
Brutal-Force

Brutal-Force

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Yeah I downloaded the lastest version.

Does everyone with an i5 750 also have a option to enable/disable HT?
 

ghost_recon88

Senior Jedi Master
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Location
Michigan
Yeah I downloaded the lastest version.

Does everyone with an i5 750 also have a option to enable/disable HT?

No, i5 750s do not have HT. If CPU-Z doesn't say it's an ES, the odds are good it's a retail chip and CoreTemp is wrong. I've seen retail i7 chips that are identified as "ES" chips in CoreTemp.
 
Last edited:
OP
Brutal-Force

Brutal-Force

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Update: I didn't have the latest version of Coretemp. After I updated it no longer said ES.

As for the HT portion, I don't understand why MOBOs give you this option even if the chip doesn't support it. AND what happens if you enable it.

"If you enable HT on a i5 maybe you can travel backwards in time."
 

Fitzuni

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
very stable setup
Fri, 01 Jan 2010 06:24:44 +0100 | Validated by EVGA Validator 1.01
CPU PSN : hOUDM sbNSD ulHbqtafi[
CPU EXT : MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2 EM64T
CPUID : 6.E.5 / Extended : 6.1E
CPU Cache : L1 : 4 x 32 / 4 x 32 KB - L2 : 4 x 256 KB
CPU Cache : L3 : 8192 KB
Core : i5 750 (45 nm) / Stepping : B1

Freq : 3800.08 MHz (200 * 19)
Rated Fsb:3600 Mhz
MB Brand : EVGA
MB Model : EVGA P55 SLI LE E653
NB : Intel DMI Host Bridge rev 11
SB : Intel PCH LPC Bridge rev 05
here is mine
RAM : 6144 MB DDR3 Dual Channel
RAM Speed : 800 MHz (2:8) @ 8-8-8-24


CPU-Z Forum Banner (BB Code below)
 
Last edited: