• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

corsair and OCZ pc4000 wont do 5:4 on abit ic7-g Max3?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

eliteoneXP

Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2002
I have tried both ocz and corsair oc4000 in this mobo and i cant seem to have them run at 5:4 at all. My old corsair pc3500 can do it just fine tho and 3:2 as well. Has anyone else had this issue?
 

Sirius

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Location
S.C
Ya I have xms4000 and cant run at 5:4. 1:1 and 3:2 work fine, cant get low timing with 1:1. Have you seen how high you can get the xms4000 on 1:1 or no? I stopped at 240.
 
OP
eliteoneXP

eliteoneXP

Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2002
I can get as high as like 265. I also cant bump the VDIMM past 2.8 but i can do it with my pc3500. This is extremely annoying
 

flapperhead

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Location
wash dc area
make sure u have the latest bios.. set nb strap to 800 also
in the memory timings select manual and run 3-4-4-8. see if that helps
 
OP
eliteoneXP

eliteoneXP

Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2002
when i manually set the ram timings it will POST but it wont go into windows for some odd reason.
 

sp00L

Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2003
Location
Buffalo, NY
You guys should check out the forums at www.abit-usa.com and go to the board for MAX Series. There have been many others who can't get their PC4000, especially OCZ, to run well on the IC7-MAX3. It's related to the vdimm voltage fluctuation at 2.9-3.2. And the lower vtt that isn't within spec. These MAX3 boards are only good to 2.8 vdimm. I wrestled with this same problem trying to get my PC3500 over 225 with tigher timings or any timings to work at 230+ fsb.


On those same abit forums, abit themselves acknowledge the flawed vdimm/vtt and only offer a fix for the vdimm but not the vtt. The AI7 is the only abit board with proper functioning vdimm/vtt up to 3.2. My max3 is collecting dust in the closet because of this very same problem. Do some research and decide where to go from here. I was able to get an Asus but not everyone is willing to blow an additional $200+ on a new mobo.

Good luck.