• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Could use some help/advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tbonedude

Registered
Hey guys, new member T-Bone here..as well as this is my first post!!!:salute: But...I cannot seem to get past the 4ghz barrier for some reason..

Now I am a noob at overclocking, and fortunatly I have no problem admiting this because I am here in search of help. Maybe its something simple.. something overlooked..I am not sure so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Specs - (If any more information is needed please let me know)
Ram - G.Skill ddr2 (2x2gb 5-5-5-13 @ 2.1v)
Cpu - P2 X4 (NON B.E.) (945 @ 3.9ghz @ 1.44v, deneb core) - (15x260)
Mobo - Asus M4A785-M
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=946531

So, in my infinite wisdom.. I decided to do all the major nono's as far as overclocking is concered.. I dont know my max reference, i dont know what my board is capable of.. hell.. to be honest I dont know anything.. and im here for advice. Lets see if anyone can answer a few questions i've got.

My stock is 3.0, im at 3.9.. yet I dont really know much of whats going on.. do I keep my current clocks and with the advice of OC members try to tweak them as they are? Or would it be better to start over and properly identify my max capabilities?