• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Creating a sata raid, complete newbie here

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FyreDaug

Ive currently got 1x250gb sata seagate drive, and 2x200gb WD IDE's. The sata drive is fairly new and doesnt have a whole lot of torture done to it, come boxing day I may be "forced" to buy another 250gb sata seagate because of sales and I've got a couple questions for this board:

This raid setup will be the primary boot drive aswell, both WD's are slaves. Board: Asus P4S800

1) In the post screen I have the option to setup a raid using the currently installed sata drives being 2 max that my board supports.
So, is using this utility the best way to go about setting it up? Or are there other bootable cd's or something that do things better?

2) What is the FASTEST way to setup a raid? Its raid0 or raid1 I know, but what about stripe sizes? Does that matter at all for speed?
And also, if its set up for the fastest load method, does that only allow me to have 250gb combined space? Or is that only in a mirrored setup and I will still have 500gb combined?

3) Someone please give me your favorite site that has sataraid information because obviously I need to do some reading, but I wasnt finding a strong read from a single site, and being christmas I dont have a whole lot of time to be reading around, hopefully you guys can help as you always have.

Thanks

EDIT: And I should mention I dont care if it is only 250gb combined, if it means having some data protection. So afaik writes wont be increased in speeds this way, because it writes the same data to both drives, but it reads them seperately increasing the speed by twice as much? Ive been reading this link: http://www.acnc.com/04_01_01.html ...

Elif Tymes