• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Critique my HTPC options please - im a total noob!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hitt0r

I was using my laptop as a HTPC for Skygo app, and Youtube @ 1080p. The motherboard has died and i need a new HTPC.

I'd love your honest feedback on the options i have.

Option A

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: AMD 5350 2.05Ghz Quad-Core Processor (£34.98 @ Ebuyer)
Motherboard: ASRock AM1B-M Micro ATX AM1 Motherboard (£22.02 @ CCL Computers)
Memory: Kingston 4GB (1 x 4GB) DDR3-1333 Memory (£15.70 @ Amazon UK)
Storage: Sandisk SSD PLUS 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive (£34.98 @ Dabs)
Other: DVD/RW Driver (Purchased)
Other: AVP HTPC Micro Atx Media Case Black with Blue LED 450W PSU AvP Gladius CA36 (£39.99)
Total: £147.67
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2015-11-17 20:41 GMT+0000

I think this PC has enough horsepower to stream and decode HD video as it has a built in APU ?

Option B)

This is on offer for £30 - i'd need to add GeForce GT 610 1GB it for £25 im told - Sorry for poor description - it is what is posted in the advert.

INTEL E6600 , CORE 2 DUO (4 MEG L2 CACHE) 2.4 GIG CPU
QUALITY INTEL MOBO
3 GIG DDR2 RAM
250 GIG SATA HD
DVD WRITER
QUALITY SEASONIC 80+ PSU

Can you guys please evaluate both options please and tell me any pitt falls ? as i said its literally just to watch legit TV/youtube and playback of my own backups of blurays,

Thank you!

Don't bother, just run an Intel Compute Stick with Windows 10 on it. Install Netflix, Plex or whatever you want on it. Run something stored somewhere as a NAS and oyu have everything you'll ever need.