• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Crunch Time. I need to buy the processor tomorrow...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
I have an Iwill rev 1.1. KK266 (not a raid). I am going to order my processor tomorrow and want to know if you have a 1.1 and have had any problems with the 1.2 gig 266 FSB processor. I'd like to have the fastest cpu I can afford but want to avoid the troubles if possible. I would go with the 1.1gig 266 FSB if anyone tells me they had problems with this rev board and the 1.2 gig 266 FSB. Let me know, you could save me some shipping time and some serious hassles. Thanks.
 

ExtremeOC

Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
get a normal 200FSB version.... they basicly can all do 133(266DDR) if you push it and then burn it in.... these chips are UNDERCLOCKED!!! all AMD chips ARE underclocked 1x and able to do 133FSB cause thats what they were designed for... they were lowered cause of excess heat and quality control... think about it; you know i'm right... its not official, but it's true.
 

ExtremeOC

Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
cool!
i'll be getting 300CDN by the end of this month, and that has to get me a duron, HS/F and a 133a mobo.... thats y i'm looking at the epox and the MSI... am slowly going towards the MSI, but if the epox is worth the extra 20$, it'll find a way to convince me...
tell me when you get yuor chip, man!
hey, i was wondering...
since i killed my Stealth III, i have no 3d video.... NE1 NOT WANT THERE OLD 3D ACCELLERATOR?? HELP!!! =p. (when times get bad, ya get desperate.. =( )
 

ExtremeOC

Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
cool!
i'll be getting 300CDN by the end of this month, and that has to get me a duron, HS/F and a 133a mobo.... i have 25 bucks, and my freind owes me 40... and i also have a cel 400 that could but a great O'C for slotkt owners.... (needs higher voltage to O'C to 600)... and i spent 31 bucks 1 week before my comp died on a GORB.... socket370 only =( thats y i'm looking at the epox 8KTA3(i get that right??)and the MSI K7T Turbo... am slowly going towards the MSI, but if the epox is worth the extra 20$, it'll find a way to convince me...
tell me when you get yuor chip, man!
hey, i was wondering...
since i killed my Stealth III, i have no 3d video.... NE1 NOT WANT THERE OLD 3D ACCELLERATOR?? HELP!!! =p. (when times get bad, ya get desperate.. =( )
 
OP
S

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
CounTER-STRiKe (Mar 13, 2001 02:54 p.m.):
get a normal 200FSB version.... they basicly can all do 133(266DDR) if you push it and then burn it in.... these chips are UNDERCLOCKED!!! all AMD chips ARE underclocked 1x and able to do 133FSB cause thats what they were designed for... they were lowered cause of excess heat and quality control... think about it; you know i'm right... its not official, but it's true.

SO the same theory goes for the 266 processor. If AMD tends to underclock then for a few dollars more I can have a CPU that is underclocked at 266 instead of 200. Main thing I am concerned about is the compatibility issues with the Iwill boards.

Sorry, no extra 3d cards laying about here.. *s*
 

SickBoy

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jan 13, 2001
Location
Minneapolis, MN
No, no, no, you don't understand. The 1.2 GHz 100/200 cores are the exact same as the 133/266 1.2 GHz cores.... just that the 133/266's have a lower multiplier. It's the exact same processor, with the default FSB and multiplier being higher/lower respectively. You will have much more OC'ing overhead with a 100/200 MHz FSB chip. FSB's on KT133A boards don't go much past 145/150 MHz, so you're better served by spending a few bucks less on a 100/200 chip. Just unlock it, and with the Iwill, they're the same chip for all practical purposes.

SickBoy
 

RLC

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2001
SickBoy (Mar 13, 2001 05:06 p.m.):
No, no, no, you don't understand. The 1.2 GHz 100/200 cores are the exact same as the 133/266 1.2 GHz cores.... just that the 133/266's have a lower multiplier. It's the exact same processor, with the default FSB and multiplier being higher/lower respectively. You will have much more OC'ing overhead with a 100/200 MHz FSB chip. FSB's on KT133A boards don't go much past 145/150 MHz, so you're better served by spending a few bucks less on a 100/200 chip. Just unlock it, and with the Iwill, they're the same chip for all practical purposes.

SickBoy

Hi SickBoy;
i understand what you are saying, but i am just slightly confused... i just bought a IWILL KK266R motherboard, i know it will support 200/266MHz fsb, but wouldn't i be better off w/ the 266mhz fsb cpu instead of the 200mhz one? as far as for the performance side. thanks for your input!!!!
 
OP
S

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
I'm not convinced it is the same core. There is some intersting info on the main page about codes and cpu cores.

Regardless of that, if you have a 1.1 mobo and a 1.2 processor no matter what the FSB is... have you had problems with it? That is the key here to making a decision to go with 1.1 Gig or 1.2 Gig. The FSB is secondary.
 

diehrd

Senior SMP Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
NY
I am sorry But that dude knows nothing about an AMD 1.2,These chips all come factory unlocked 200fsb or 266fsb.No pencile trick on there" viper chip" sorry dude.It is not a moded chevett it is there fastest processor and is equipped as such !!

The main issues are unlocked factory 200fsb processors not posting at the 133 fsb on several 266fsb mother boards,Mainly the IWILL and the MSI .

As far as that other dudes comments DO NOT BUY A 200 FSB PROCESSOR with that board or you will be sorry !!And my Abit KT7A 1.2 266fsb processor is running smooth as hell at 1.43 on cheap ram.

The 266 fsb 1.2 is the same platform as the soon to be released 1.33 AMD.It is not the old 200fsb core that dude does not know what he is talking about!

Sorry for my gruffness but lots of people have big problems because thay were told the 200 and 266fsb chips are "The same".This may be true on lower processors 1.1 or 1.0,but not correct on there 1.2.It is like saying a trans am ,firebird and the corvett are equall in perfromance LOL.So trust me go 1.2 266fsb on that mother board.
 

SickBoy

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jan 13, 2001
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Last I checked, these are processors we are discussing, not cars.

Not EVERY 1.2 is factory unlocked. I have been IM'ing with a dude who had to pencil his. Granted it's an older chip but not all vendors have trays of chips fresh from AMD.

OK, even if the cores are different on the 100/200's and the 133/266's, you are not buying any extra level of performance by getting a 266 chip. They both go to about the same speeds, unless this rumor about some of them being pre-release Palomino cores is true. BUT.... you're going to have much less overhead for FSB overclocking. Yes, a tbird running at 133/266 is going to outperform a tbird running at 100/200 but 95% of all 1.2 Tbirds will run at 133/266 on the right mobo regardless of rated FSB. I say save the extra few dollars.

Maybe next time you guys will think about what I say rather than jumping in with analogies. I am sorry to get huffy like this but I dont tolerate people who hurl insults at me based on what I say in this forum. you don't know me. you dont have any right to attack me on a personal level, so please dont make it that.

SickBoy
 
OP
S

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Sickboy- No attack intended.

If I buy a 266 chances are it is a new processor that has not been sitting in someones parts bin. Better chance it is one of the codes mentioned by Ed on the main page that is hitting 1.4+. My main concern is that my 1.1 board will not have a problem with the chip. I'm pretty much set on buying a 1.2 266 if I can verify the board is not a problem. I am going to take a chance the cores are different. Since I am going with an Iwill I have a good chance of hitting 320 on the FSB because that board has hit 166 successfully. Thanks for your input though. All opinions count here.
 

diehrd

Senior SMP Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
NY
Well If thay are the same egg on my face,But remember I am an owner of the processor in question
so have a huge intrest in Knowing what is right and what is wrong.Just like you do with your 750 or what ever it is,There fore I spend all my time looking at reviews and posts concerning the 1.2 processors.

Thay did a side by side of 200fsb and 266fsb on the Board this guy has,THAY COULD NOT GET A 200 to POST at 133 settings,And at the stock settings of course the 266 out performed the 200,However when thay considered o/Cing the 200fsb the figured the field would level off,If YOU DID NOT O/C the 266fsb.
If yo u did oc it Thay were sure it would out perform the 1.2/200 !!!So thet review was very informative and is telling us the top chip is the 266fsb.
 

FunkyTechnician

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
Location
Baltimore
Seabhac,

I am getting the IWill KK266 (or thought I was until this whole 1.2 debacle) but from what I have read, the version 1.1's have less of a problem with the 1.2 ghz processors, but there are some people who have had the multiplier problem with v1.2 of the KK266. Chances are less but still there. That goes for 1.1 Ghz processors too though. Check www.amdmb.com; they have a forum devoted to IWill motherboards. Beware though, the people who post there aren't as friendly as overclockers.com.

I'm probably going to get the 1.2Ghz processor also so I am going to wait to get my Iwill board. According to Iwill, all of the KK266s shipped after March 5 have the problem fixed.

Amiel
 
OP
S

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Thanks for your input guys. I am going to purchase the 1.2 266. I may have to wait another week though I was looking over my finances last night and this will be pushing it a little. Meanwhile the 1.3 will be coming out and I'll probably be kicking myself for not going with that. Thanks again.
 

stool

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Albany, NY
seabhac (Mar 14, 2001 09:48 a.m.):
Thanks for your input guys. I am going to purchase the 1.2 266. I may have to wait another week though I was looking over my finances last night and this will be pushing it a little. Meanwhile the 1.3 will be coming out and I'll probably be kicking myself for not going with that. Thanks again.
Seabhac, I just got a 1.2 266, from http://www.tcwo.com . This chip has the AXIA code that Ed has mentioned in the article on the front page. I can't say that all their 1.2s are this code, but there is a pretty good chance of it. Also, they charge a flat $6.95 shipping too.
 
OP
S

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
stool (Mar 14, 2001 11:35 p.m.):
seabhac (Mar 14, 2001 09:48 a.m.):
Thanks for your input guys. I am going to purchase the 1.2 266. I may have to wait another week though I was looking over my finances last night and this will be pushing it a little. Meanwhile the 1.3 will be coming out and I'll probably be kicking myself for not going with that. Thanks again.
Seabhac, I just got a 1.2 266, from http://www.tcwo.com . This chip has the AXIA code that Ed has mentioned in the article on the front page. I can't say that all their 1.2s are this code, but there is a pretty good chance of it. Also, they charge a flat $6.95 shipping too.
Thanks. Thats a better price than I was looking at.
 

Yomama

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
The battle born State
You really can most likely save the extra money for the 266 marking. In fact I read two reviews so far, which implied that the 266 chip was not as overclockable as the 200 version.

One of those reviews I found through www.athlonoc.com

Check it out.

I personally would go to a computer show and buy an 1100 or 1200/200chip that has a late marking as listed on the main page

Yo
 
OP
S

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Yo- It appears the 266 FSB cpus are in some cases have the better codes as listed on the main page. Now I realize there are no guarantees here but it is only 10 or so more for this processor and it gives me a shot at a better code. Plus I personally think these processors are different in spite of all the talk. I don't think that AMD is selling 200s as 266s. There is clearly something different about the newer chips anyway as outlined in a number of reviews and the voltages required. Thanks for the input though.