• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

custom power-on switches

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rickytheraccoon

Registered
Joined
Dec 20, 2003
I want to install a flip switch to power on my computer. Like a lever. Anyone know what I'm talking about? Where could I get one of these. Thanks :)
 

stool

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Albany, NY
Welcome to the forums.

You can try any of the regular electronics shops online. Here's one to start you off;

All Electronics

Just remember it should be a momentray on switch.
 

tom10167

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2003
Location
Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT
I bought some throw switches at Home Depot for about $3, these are the ones you see on submarine dashboards, the wiring was about as complex as flicking on a light switch. The Dremeling, on the other hand, was about as complex as flicking off a light switch.
EDIT: The switches I got are basically what Macktruck posted, sans the big red cover.
 

Ugmore Baggage

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2002
The ones we see on submarine dashboards?!!
I didn't even know submarines had dashboards!
The only dashboard I usually see has KIA written on it.
 

don256us

Uber Folding Senior
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
GOD Macktruck said:
i always liked the looks of this switch

http://www.frozencpu.com/cgi-bin/frozencpu/ele-95.html

: ) :

That switch is not a momentary switch. As stated by stool it must be momentary to be used for power or reset. This switch will work fine for its stated purpose of fans and lights. Note that they say it is good for your computer but don't list power or reset. That was not a mistake.

Welcome to the forums.
 

TheFrag

Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2002
ya know, if he really wanted to, he could quickly flip it on then off. But yeah, otherwise your gonna need a momentary switch.