• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Danger Den to stock 220 watt pelts!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

racecar12

Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2002
Location
mid-tn
I was too antsy to get mine so I ordered 1 from tekheads about 3 months ago. They are some wicked pelts, I can tell you. Had the project running for a couple of days but one mourning when I turned things on, I forgot to turn on the waterpump (stupid me). It took less than 20 seconds to damage the acrylic top on my spiral and bowed the bottom of teh w/b. I modified a maze2 cold to get a secure mount for the pelt.
 
OP
C

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
racecar12 - A hearty welcome to Overclockers from Mr. Thompson. :D
 

racecar12

Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2002
Location
mid-tn
I knew I would find some familiar oc friends here. I do like this forum, and recently became a member with the seti team, not to mention the great techs that frequent this forum:cool:
 

Bender

Mysteriously Changing Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Location
In Thelemac's Basement Eating the Chickens
Hey Colin just to let you know I finally found a good psu and a 220 watt peltier. I'm getting an astron 50 amp (36 const) so I don't think I'll have any problems. The only thing I don't like is the weight of the astron. Its a 45 pund chunk of metal. I cant wait to give this setup a try.
 

racecar12

Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2002
Location
mid-tn
Bender said:
Hey Colin just to let you know I finally found a good psu and a 220 watt peltier. I'm getting an astron 50 amp (36 const) so I don't think I'll have any problems. The only thing I don't like is the weight of the astron. Its a 45 pund chunk of metal. I cant wait to give this setup a try.
Sounds like that psu will work good for ya. I got a smaller psu that is suposedly rated at 32amps cont. but my 220watt pelt can cause my psu to overheat which shuts down. Not really a problem I just added another fan just above heatsink for the transformer.
 

racecar12

Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2002
Location
mid-tn
Bender said:
Hey racecar12 I was also thinking of adding a fan but I don't think it will need it. What are your system specs and what are your temps like with the 220?
Before accident, my test system was a [email protected] with 1.85vcore and full load temps were between 7-9c. What are you planing on cooling with your pelt?
 
OP
C

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
racecar12 - I agree there is a pretty good crowd here. Overclockers was the first forum I found and still is my home. :)

Bender - You are welcome to my Aston. I have defected to non-overclocked watercooled Xeons. :eek:
 

Bender

Mysteriously Changing Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Location
In Thelemac's Basement Eating the Chickens
I think this is a good fit for my Athlon XP1800. My P4 is in a Micro ATX case so that kills the idea of portable if you stick on a 45 pound Astron PSU. For the P4 I want to run a 156 watt peltier off the computers PSU. I will probably upgrade it to a 510 antec before I do anything since it has a 30 amp 12v line. The 156 watt peltier should only be taking 13-14 amps so I will be fine.

Colin I just noticed we have almos the exact amount of posts and you joined on the exact same day as I did. You must have also been around when we had the old old forums before Dec 2000.
 

Silver

Senior Citizen (aka old fart)
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Dallas, Georgia
racecar12 said:
Sounds like that psu will work good for ya. I got a smaller psu that is suposedly rated at 32amps cont. but my 220watt pelt can cause my psu to overheat which shuts down. Not really a problem I just added another fan just above heatsink for the transformer.

Picked the same one up myself. Should be at the door tommorow. Got a 226 to go with it though I will have to wait on Swiftech to ship it. The Psu looks real good and am looking forward to getting it.:D