• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

DDR...is it causing my prob?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pentachromium

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2002
Hey,
I have the Gigabyte 7vrxp and samsung 333DDR and i recently set the timings to cas2 and 1t, the computer worked fine for the first few boots, but now i can't do anything before it boots to windows i get the following error:

The following file is missing or corrupt:
windows\system32\config\system

is this being caused by the memory? it doesn't seem like it would, any ideas?



Also, i recently overclocked and my system hasn't been teh same quite since, i've had to clear the CMOS and reformat, i think i may have broke something, although i was only running [email protected] / 54Celcius / 150FSB
 

CPFitz14

Member
Joined
May 23, 2002
Location
Michigan
I was o/cing my memory just yesterday and got a similar message. As I am typing this, w2k is re-installing. Usually means a corrupted hdd, but nothing that can't be fixed. Just reformat and reinstall.
 
OP
P

pentachromium

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2002
k, thats what i was thinking too, but i just can't see a reason why memory timing would mess with your HD, but i would see FSB causing problems

its cool though, thanx for the advice
 

CPFitz14

Member
Joined
May 23, 2002
Location
Michigan
yeah...I was wondering the same thing....but thats what seemed to have caused my problem. I've had my fsb higher without corruption, so I would guess that it must have had to do with the memory.
 

rogerdugans

Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me...
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Location
Corner of No and Where
I have seen that message more times than I can count:)

When I push just a little bit too hard on my fsb overclocking....BAM!

If it is a very small increase than the drive doesn't seem to actually corrupt- its just that the speed is too great for reliable read/writes. A reboot at lower FSB will fix that.
When I go a too far the drive does get corrupted and need an OS re-install.

Thats why I do my major overclocking with very little on the system: once I know the general area I can get things running at installing more software becomes an option again. ( I usually get that message at least a half dozen times when I first build a new pc for OCing:D)
 

larva

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jul 12, 2002
Memory is working storage for the cpu. Anytime the contents of RAM are corrupted damaged data can be written back to the hard disk. Most assuradely your corrupted windows file is result of pushing the RAM too far. This is a very minor consequence, as it's just software. If it wasn't just a consequence of pushing the RAM past its limits you would be talking about a hard drive failure. Just because you'd like to think the RAM is capable of sustaining operation at the more agressive settings doesn't influence the reality of the situation. The changes you made to the memory timing are the cause, and the corrupted windows file is the result. You may be able to replace the file itself and avoid a re-install, or it may take a fresh windows to correct the matter (and others that may exist but don't show up as you enter windows). In any event if you continue to run the new memory timings you will be doing the reinstall thing very often.