• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

DDR3 Ram Overclocking issues and questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kariolmax

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Hello,
at the beginning I want to thank you for understanding my English (I'm from Poland) and help. I'm a newbie overclocker and not everything is clear for me, so your help will be irreplaceable.
My build is: i5-4690k @4,5ghz & SPC Fortis 3 | Msi Z97 Gaming 3 | Palit 1070 Super JetStream @ 2063/4400mhz | 16GB (2x 8gb) Crucial Ballistix Sport 1600mhz CL9| CoolerMaster G550M | WD Blue 1TB & Samsung 840 series 128GB | Phanteks P400S Tempered Glass

I overclocked my ram about half a year ago and it stood at 2400mhz 10-12-12-31 CR2 1.76V but unfortunatelly yesterday my PC crashed while playing CS GO (I didn't play that game so that's the reason why it was that long from oc). I wanted to repair that problem and I started the whole process from the beginning - downloaded SuperPi 1.9, AIDA64, memtest and memtest86 7.5. In the last of that list I got errors even on default bios setting (even for a cpu) so I switched it to v4.3 - non-uefi ver. I'm still looking for good, real performance showing and recurrent benchmark concerned on games - suggestions welcome.

Today I did:
- Tests on default ram settings
- 1866mhz 10-10-10-27 cr2 1.55V and with VSA 0.9V, both VTT on 1.1V (that parameters weren't modified on previous oc - 2400mhz, it run without it).
- 2000mhz 10-10-10-27 CR2 1.6V
- 2133mhz 11-11-11-29 CR2 1.65V
- 2400mhz 10-12-12-31 CR2 1.7V a lot of bugs in memtest86 even high voltage (increased VTT to 1.15 and VSA to 0.92V)

I've listed only working settings (that means that I didn't get BSOD on booting or reset settings in bios), now I'm running 2133mhz 9-11-11-31 CR2 1.68V (real 1.668), memtest86 passed for about 35 minutes without any error. I want to get as much as it's possible from that memories.

I don't know what's are the rules in timings (I've heard only that the last parameter - ex. 31 should be +3 when every increases by 1) and setting voltages without a damage risk (last OC ended with 1.76V on DRAM and auto mode on VTT...). I will be very thankful with your help!
 

||Console||

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2004
For me in 24/7 use I find very little difference in 1600 vs 2000 . I really only push my ram when benching .
With the Different Clocks you listed Did you test with anything ? ( aida64 for example) to see what combo of speed vs timmings is best ?
I find messing with timmings a Pain in the *** now ( i used to try and get the last little bit ) but now I just work off the SPD timmings and clock from there . Unless It is a really popular Ram than many ppl have posted x-x-x-x works great .
 
OP
K

kariolmax

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Thank you for fast reply, I can see difference between 1600mhz and 2133 in booting, internet pages loading (when >30 opened). I've tested every working configuration in aida but some tests of different rams shows that the results may vary (for ex. 2400mhz may be faster in winrar but slower in gaming comparing to 2133).
 
OP
K

kariolmax

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
As I've written above it shows nothing on 4 available slots.

edit: Got it in AIDA64: Screenshot_1.png
 
Last edited:

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
I would be running that ram at 9-9-9-24 as fast as I can get it stable and call it good.
 
OP
K

kariolmax

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Memtest86 V7.5 (UEFI version) shows errors on every setting, I think it's a bios bug or something, PC is stable on 2133mhz and 1600, tested.
@Mr.Scott It makes that I souldn't OC it because that timings setting works only on 1600mhz.
 

wingman99

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
If the memory shows errors in Memtest86 with the BIOS at optimized default settings, there is a problem with the memory. If you think it is a BIOS bug reflash the BIOS.
 
OP
K

kariolmax

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
But take a look that happens only on 7.5 version, on 4.3 there's no errors, Passmark told that it may be uncompatible with some mobos.