• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Dead MS Explorer Optical Mouse

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
M

marty

Guest
Has anyone here had trouble with the optical Microsoft Explorer mouse? I have one of the original of these. I think I bought it in early 1999 for $70.

It is being detected as an unknown USB device instead of a mouse. When it does occasionally work as the mouse it stops working almost immediately.

Has anyone else had this problem?
 
OP
M

marty

Guest
Thanks for the reply. The problem may have been a registry corruption. I did a "restore" with Win ME to Monday and all is now fine.

I had checked the mouse on two computers at home with no luck. When I checked it at work, the mouse seemed fine. Then I decided to try a restore.
 
OP
M

marty

Guest
Now I have a different problem that is likely due to the use of the "Restore" program. My Norton AV is giving a message right before Win ME finishes loading that informs me that the Norton Auto Protect can't initialize or use the virus definitions. I think this is because I did an update on Tuesday after I thought I had fixed my problems.

I know that if I do a new install of Norton that I will have problems because the program will think I am trying to cheat on my one year license.

Any suggestions?
 

TheCrow

Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2001
Location
Lisbon, Portugal
Sorry... I use McAfee Vscan. Not so heavy on the system...
I dont think its a problem if you install it again but like i sayd, i use McAfee, so i´m not sure...
But if i come across something i´ll let you know.
 
OP
M

marty

Guest
I went to the Norton site and there were four suggestions for getting rid of the conflict. The third one worked. All but the last suggestion had to do with reinstalling the virus definitions.

The final solution, was as you have guessed, to reinstall the whole program.

I tried to install Norton twice on a friend's laptop. The second time it thought we were trying to illegally extend the subscription for more than a year!!
 

TheCrow

Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2001
Location
Lisbon, Portugal
Ok, i see that you´ve already solved Norton problem.

Personally, I think it´s always god policy to go to the "manufacture" Website to find sollutions.
Sometimes they have the answers.... and most of the times they dont, but it´s always a god place to start.
 

!-=sky=-!

Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
Hong Kong
try to throw the mouse around....it works....and i m serious

my microsoft usb intellimouse doesnt work sometimes and when i smack it on the table a few times it will work good again
 

TheCrow

Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2001
Location
Lisbon, Portugal
-=sky=- said:
try to throw the mouse around....it works....and i m serious

my microsoft usb intellimouse doesnt work sometimes and when i smack it on the table a few times it will work good again

:D :D :D HEHEHE
Sorry i just cant stop :D :D :D

ok, I´ve calm down: try opening your intellimouse and see if there a bad connection anywhere, it could be a loose cable.
 

maiof

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2001
there's one screw... under the little plastic gliding thingie (dunno the name)
the bottom plastic thingie... not the top one....


and i had the same problem with my intelli mouse... i had to bang it around a bit to work.. i found out that where the cable comes out the mouse, it cramped tooooo tight and begins to wear-n-tare the mouse... i had to cut the wire and discard the bad part....
then just put enough electrical tape around where it comes out the mouse so the cable wont move around.... but not too tight where it rips again.

hope that helps...
 

!-=sky=-!

Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
Hong Kong
maiof said:
there's one screw... under the little plastic gliding thingie (dunno the name)
the bottom plastic thingie... not the top one....


and i had the same problem with my intelli mouse... i had to bang it around a bit to work.. i found out that where the cable comes out the mouse, it cramped tooooo tight and begins to wear-n-tare the mouse... i had to cut the wire and discard the bad part....
then just put enough electrical tape around where it comes out the mouse so the cable wont move around.... but not too tight where it rips again.

hope that helps...

i cant find any TAPE around my house.....anyways i don't even bother looking for my mouse
it's there but in somewhere

and.......the mouse being an unknown usb device might be because your overclocked fsb too high and the onboard usb ports screw themselves up therefore making ALL/MOST devices unreconized