• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Desktop slowdown

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dangerouSoul

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Location
Portugal
Hi guys i built a new system.. maximus VIII hero, 6700K, 16gb corsair vengeance lpx 3000mhz.. The problem is on desktop it gets a bit of a slowdown, don´t know why.. maybe u could help me, never had this kind of issue with other builds =(. I assembly the system on tuesday.. when i move cursor the cursor doesn´t move softly like its supposed..
 

Theocnoob

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Location
Near Toronto Canada
You're going to have to give a lot more information than that if you want us to be able to help you...

Please list all parts, operating system, monitor brand and model, other installed software, better description of problem (video is better).
 
OP
D

dangerouSoul

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Location
Portugal
- - - Updated - - -

You're going to have to give a lot more information than that if you want us to be able to help you...

Please list all parts, operating system, monitor brand and model, other installed software, better description of problem (video is better).

Hi man..
Asus rog maximus VIII Hero
I7 6700k
Corsair H100i
16Gb corsair vengeance Lpx black 3000mhz
SSD Samsung 500Gb
1Tb Seagate 7200rpm
Xfx 850w Pro series
Windows 10 64bit
 

Theocnoob

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Location
Near Toronto Canada
What monitor? No graphics card??

Can you describe the issue in (a lot) more detail? Things you have tried to fix it? Is it intermittent? Or did it used to not be an issue and now it is? Has it always been like this? This is the kind of thing where a video would be better by like 1000x.
 

LutaWicasa

, Immutable, Administrator
Joined
Dec 22, 2000
Location
Huntsville, AL
Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the mouse or tried another device?
Have you looked in task manager to see what is going on CPU usage wise during the slowdown?
That's the only "slowdown" that you've reported thus far.
 

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
two things i have seen cause things like the courser not moving smoothly, vcore sag and the chipset driver,
 
OP
D

dangerouSoul

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Location
Portugal
What monitor? No graphics card??

Can you describe the issue in (a lot) more detail? Things you have tried to fix it? Is it intermittent? Or did it used to not be an issue and now it is? Has it always been like this? This is the kind of thing where a video would be better by like 1000x.

XFX rx480 gtr black edition v2.0.
I assembly this system, formatted.. Things got installed.. I only installed gpu driver. The rest got installed automatically.

- - - Updated - - -

two things i have seen cause things like the courser not moving smoothly, vcore sag and the chipset driver,

Never had this problem, but like i said new system mate..
 

mokrunka

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Have you tried un-installing/re-installing graphics drivers? Or trying a different version?
 

Mjolnir

Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Location
Sydney, Australia
"I assembly this system, formatted.. Things got installed.. I only installed gpu driver. The rest got installed automatically."

So you didn't install the drivers off the motherboard disc/from the vendors website? Windows installs generic drivers, but you should always install the proper manufacturer drivers too, from the disc if you want them outdated (but will work) or download the latest from the relevant motherboard website.
 
OP
D

dangerouSoul

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Location
Portugal
"I assembly this system, formatted.. Things got installed.. I only installed gpu driver. The rest got installed automatically."

So you didn't install the drivers off the motherboard disc/from the vendors website? Windows installs generic drivers, but you should always install the proper manufacturer drivers too, from the disc if you want them outdated (but will work) or download the latest from the relevant motherboard website.

Did that already. didn´t work either =(. Don´t know what else to do.. I´ll do a vid later for you guys..I think its better..
 
OP
D

dangerouSoul

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Location
Portugal
Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the mouse or tried another device?
Have you looked in task manager to see what is going on CPU usage wise during the slowdown?
That's the only "slowdown" that you've reported thus far.

Saw that already.. only 2% usage..
 

TheCheat

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Assuming the OS is installed on the SSD, it might be worth it to see if a firmware update is available? What specific model ssd do you have?
 
Last edited:

Theocnoob

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Location
Near Toronto Canada
Am I the only person here who would really appreciate a video demonstrating the issue? I'm having trouble picturing it and I know that I, for one, would be much more able to help if I could see a video. Something else that might help diagnose where precisely the problem is occuring would be to record yourself mousing around the desktop both externally, and internally.

In otherwords, record your desktop with a program like OBS while you also film the screen with a camera. If the issue is only on the camera, you pretty much have your answer.
 

wingman99

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
I would disconnect peripherals that the PC does not need to run, then try the mouse. How does your mouse work in Bios?
 
OP
D

dangerouSoul

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Location
Portugal
Assuming the OS is installed on the SSD, it might be worth it to see if a firmware update is available? What specific model ssd do you have?

It was the first things that i did..Installed everything for the mobo then the ssd. i have samsung 840 500gb. When i was playing mafia 3 and gunslinger the system hanged up =(. The last time the system hanged up on mafia i had to reboot..

- - - Updated - - -

I would disconnect peripherals that the PC does not need to run, then try the mouse. How does your mouse work in Bios?

Well..
 
OP
D

dangerouSoul

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Location
Portugal
Am I the only person here who would really appreciate a video demonstrating the issue? I'm having trouble picturing it and I know that I, for one, would be much more able to help if I could see a video. Something else that might help diagnose where precisely the problem is occuring would be to record yourself mousing around the desktop both externally, and internally.

In otherwords, record your desktop with a program like OBS while you also film the screen with a camera. If the issue is only on the camera, you pretty much have your answer.

Can´t upload vid here.. Says is to large.