• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

DGS-1008D network switch, it's not detecting.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

geestring

Im new to switches so im not sure if im setting it up correctly.

I have my ethernet cable running from router to the switch. This detects properly on the switch. When I add my xbox to the swtich there are no lights and it's not connected to the internet.

any ideas?

Gresyth

Computer Abuser
If you are trying to have either the xbox or your pc online without changing cables around, the switch is the wrong item. You want a router. A router can obtain an IP address from your ISP then assign internal IPs to each device connected to it. With a switch, the first device to ask for an IP gets the one from your ISP and the next device doesn't get one.

Switches are typically used after a router to allow more devices than the router has ports for. Or if you have multiple internet IPs from your ISP a switch can work. But the extra IPs would cost more per IP per month from your ISP.

I've found that a lot of sales-beasts will sell switches and hubs to people who need routers simply because the sales-beast doesn't know any better.

If you already have a router and bought the switch to add the xbox on the network and needed another port, log into your router and tell it to assign an additional IP for the xbox. By default a router will only assign as many IPs as it has ports.

Last edited:

mbentley

Gloriously Lead, Overclockix Chief Architect
Im new to switches so im not sure if im setting it up correctly.

I have my ethernet cable running from router to the switch. This detects properly on the switch. When I add my xbox to the swtich there are no lights and it's not connected to the internet.

any ideas?