• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Did I just fry my 21" monitor?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MsNath

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2001
Dear God I think I fried my 21" monitor. My computer was running just fine. It was up and running when it seemed to go into sleep more. You know how there is that click and it powers down? Your green power light goes to amber? Well this time it started doing this click click click flashing amber thing. I gave the mouse a shake to wake it up but it just kept on clickcing and flashing amber. I shut down the computer unpluged the monitor from the video card and tried turning the monitor on. This usually produces a no signal display however the monitor started doing the same click click click amber flashing light and black screen. I also unplugged the monitor from the poer supply, that didn't work either.

I think the monitor is toast. I think it might have to do with my Voodoo card. I was trying to pry the heat sink off to mount a water block on it this morning when I broke a small transitor off on the bottom right hand corner. I was a bit worried but when I placed the card into the computer and booted up it worked fine. I surfed the net for an hour or so then I played some quake 3 areana. After that I went and sat down to watch some TV. About 5 mins after I sat down, which is what my sleep mode is set for, the monitor seemed to slip into sleep mode and then the clicking and amber flashing light appeared. <normally the amber light is solid not flashing> It hasn't woke up since :(

Is it possible the Voodoo fried my monitor or could this be just a coincidence?
 

UnseenMenace

UnseenModerator
Joined
Apr 23, 2001
The only way that I am aware of that it is possible to 'fry' a monitor is if you ran it at a refresh rate higher than the monitor was designed for, is this the case ?
 

outhouse

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
Location
Auburn California
That transisitor was there for a reason and I think maybe trying to run with it even though it was damaged was a mistake [maybe you could have put another transitor in maybe not] all of us here hope your monitor is not fried do you have another PC you can run it on and see if it works on that one. If your monitor does not work remember its not toast it can be repaired hopefully for allot less then buying a new one. good luck
 
OP
M

MsNath

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2001
Shadow ÒÓ (May 13, 2001 11:26 p.m.):
was it the same as the one I broke in this post?


The card has been running since the date of that post flawlessly. I never bothered to repair it.


Yes identical card only I broke off the bottom one not the middle one. This monitor that Im using now seem to have suffered no ill effects. But its an old 13"er.

Good news though the monitor is covered under warrenty :) Took it in this afternoon hopefull y I will get it back by the end of the week. Or get a new replacement.

Someone mentioned to high a refresh rate burns out monitors. UMMM if this was the case is it fixable or is the monitor usually a write off?

Not that I would run my monitor at to higher than recommended refresh rates. :>
 

Shadow ÒÓ

Mod in Hiding
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Pensacola, Florida USA
more than likely it was a fluke. I'll bet you didn't burn it up.

also newer monitors will do 95mhz refresh or so.....if you're running above that, then it's probably overkill.

I am one of those who's very sensitive to flicker....and I don't see it at 85-90. No need to run higher.

Hope I was able to help.
 

ExtremeOC

Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
I run monitors @ 65 hz, and no flicker. Also, that is a capacitor, NOT a transistor, and they ARe pretty important for a curcuit. Capacitors are usually varialbes, and if u want me to prove that it's a capac, i'll pull my V3 out @ home and look myself.

Also, is ~22 FPS bad for a voodoo @ 640x480 in q3a..?

Also, it only gets 20FPS on MDK2, witch u can watch it slow down. is it just the system it's in??

It onyl gets 902 3dmarks, and O'Cing the voodoo to 162/162 (163 is too much, lol) doesnt seem to give any performance gain. Also, i added on a 486 fan, too hot for my liking.


MsNath, try to not run the voodoo without the capac, i can try to find u and shadow some new ones, and solder them in, they had legs, so it's easy. It's SMD soldering i DO have a problem with.


and mebbe the monitor connections were bad? my speakers just died, great ones, only 3w a channel, but the speaker was about 2 1/2 inches thick =)
 

Shadow ÒÓ

Mod in Hiding
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Pensacola, Florida USA
XtremeOC (May 14, 2001 11:53 a.m.):
I run monitors @ 65 hz, and no flicker. Also, that is a capacitor, NOT a transistor, and they ARe pretty important for a curcuit. Capacitors are usually varialbes, and if u want me to prove that it's a capac, i'll pull my V3 out @ home and look myself.

at 65 hz I get headaches.......as I said I'm pretty sensitive to it. Some people simply can't see it. It's not a preformance thing.......refresh is refresh no matter which monitor or vid card you are using. At 65hz on your setup, I'd get headaches too.

The capacitors can't be that important if it's been running for a couple months w/o fails. I'll just leave this one alone.

Also, is ~22 FPS bad for a voodoo @ 640x480 in q3a..?

Also, it only gets 20FPS on MDK2, witch u can watch it slow down. is it just the system it's in??

Actually that's horrible.....this same machine with the missing capacitor is getting 1200 scores in 2001 and running about 70fps in UT and Q3 at 800x600. Do you have a PCI card? If not, is it 2X or 4X enabled? This card is also not overclocked.
 

Mord-Sith

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2001
Ive seen somthing similar to this happen before. Somthing on the degausing cirtcut when out and the monitor was permenetly degausing itself. It was repairable. I think it cost about 75 bucks. I cant say thats your problem but I highly highly highly doubt it was your video card.
 

Nagorak

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Gawd, 65 Hz, that's HORRIBLE. Above 85 Hz is OK, but I always set my refresh as high as my monitor can go! If you install the monitor drivers it does not let you run at a higher refresh than it can handle.