• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Difficulties...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FriedAMD

Howdy, I'm new to both these forums and oc'ing. I'm running a Palomino AXP 2100+ on an ASUS a7v333 mobo, and have been experimenting with modest oc'ing for the past few days. I've been able to raise the FSB in BIOS from the stock 133mhz to 140mhz or so (keeping the multiplier at 13), but if I try to bump it past that, my system just hangs. Temperatures at 140mhz report in fine in BIOS, despite the fact I'm running stock cooling (I keep my case open and my room cold). Is there something I missed in one of the several extensive "overclocking guide" threads on these forums that I should be aware of? If this is the case, I apologize in advance. Thanks!

(Oh BTW, CPU vcore is at 1.75 V...higher than usual for my processor, I know, but I can't set it any lower in the bios).

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Yeah, 2100+ Palomino is the end of the line Palomino.
There are no 2200+ Palominos because they don't scale any more which is why they made Thoroughbreds.

You can take a 2100+ Thoroughbred B to 2.3 GHz average but 2100+ Palomino can't overclock much at all. Sorry.

OP
F

FriedAMD

I have PC2700. Not the best, I realize, but certainly better than PC2100.

Sorry to hear that c6. Guess it might be time to start considering upgrading to a Barton or something like that. I'd love to be able to sqeeze a bit more out of my current setup...bummer.

c627627

Yeah, eBay the Palomino, then get a mobile 2500+ or mobile 2600+ (do not get the 2400+) or if the $ is tight, go for the inexpensive 2100+ B, the only desktop CPU that is guaranteed to be multiplier unlocked and guaranteed to be an excellent overclocker (as far as cheap desktop CPUs go) with adequate cooling.

Docta_Z