• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Dlt3c 1800

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

moosepks

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2003
I just got a DLT3C JIUHB 1800+ today an I have a few questions about overclocking it. I have an Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe, Antec True Power 480W, and 2x256MB PC3500 HyperX with CH-5 chips. I have the Vcore at 1.75V, DDRcore at 2.8V, AGP locked at 66mhz. The memory timing is currently 8-3-3-2T. I can't seem to get the FSB above 180Mhz without serious instability. I have the multi at 12.5 and FSB @ 180. I know that I am getting decent speed out of the chip, but it seems that the FSB is really limiting me, I don't think that I have the chip maxed out. I can't do 10x200, and that ram should be able to go higher than 200fsb. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am just getting back into oc'ing and am pretty lost. The last chip that I had oc'ed was an old 300a.

Thx
 

PiMpShiN

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
Location
Houston - Westside
well the fsb is not whats limitting you its the multiplier, you have it set too high. for a good overclock dont be concerned about how high you can get the multi because in the end all you get is emply speed. try 11x205, you dont have to but definitely lower the multi its unnecessary to have it that high. your memory is awesome memory as well. with the bh-5 chips you should manage to get the timings to 2-2-2-6 easily.
 
OP
M

moosepks

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2003
I have tried lower multipliers, I can't get the FSB to be stable beyond 180 no matter what the mulitplier. Also, I have CH-5 not BH-5.
 

The Coolest

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
What is the revision of your board. If its 2.0, there might be a way of getting higher FSB if you do the L12 trick to get the CPU's default FSB setting to 166
 
OP
M

moosepks

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2003
It should be a Rev 2. They just released this model board. So with the L12 trick, it will think the CPU is a 166, which should make the board fsb clock higher?
 

The Coolest

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
well I'm not too sure on this one, but I hear it works for some NF7s... You should make sure, by asking in the ASUS AMD mobos section
 

StinkNBreff

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2003
The l12 will make your 133 fsb cpu become a 166 fsb cpu and will allow higher overclock hopefully . It worked for my nf7-s - from 221 max to 240 max