• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Does this sound right?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Budzman

Registered
Ok, i setup my first peltier/water cooling setup. Do these temps sound high to you? 24 *c idle/29*c under load. On a 1.1 t-bird @ 1.417(AVHA0101WPEW). I am using a 156 watt pelt, a Swiftec waterblock, 150 gph rated pump with a resevoir, HWBlack Ice radiator w/ 2 120mm Fans. It is pretty hot in my room 80*F. Let me know what ya thinks.

First, I am not an expert on pelts. Second, Athlons put out A LOT of heat, so you probably won't get below zero. For the room temp, that would be pretty good using my standards, but I don't have that much pelt experience.

Here are a couple of things to check.

Check the water temp going into and also exiting the block it could be that 150gph is not enough.

You are using the team delta psu for the tec right? They come set to 12v by default. There is a trimmer for adjusting the voltage, raise it up some and you should get better results. You will not get 0 or sub 0 temps with this kind of setup on a TBird as they through out way to much heat for that, on a P3 you would though.

Go to this thread http://forums.overclockers.ws/forums/UltraBoard.cgi?action=Read&BID=5&TID=16392&SID=13990 I posted some pics with the hook up and voltage adj for the psu.

I got the power supply set to 14 DCV. The pump and radiator seems to be doing a good job. I'm using 85% distilled water, 10% water wetter, and 5% anti-freeze. Its seems to be transfering heat good, cuz you can feel the heat in the pvc tubing and the two 120mm(100cfm) fans are doing a good job too.