• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Dreamcast controller on the PC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Stoanhart

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Location
VIctoria, BC, Canada
Does anyone know where i can find an adapter to use the DC controller on my PC. I dont use my DC much anymore, so I figure i could use the controllers for split screen Serious Sam. (unless you can figure out how to use 2 keyboards and mice. That would be cool!)
 
OP
Stoanhart

Stoanhart

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Location
VIctoria, BC, Canada
Good plan, I think I might. The DC controller uses 4 contacts, like USB. I think they actually are usb in a different shape ( I heared something about that once)
 

Coolio

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2001
Location
Canada
i am pretty sure there was a post once about an adapter to hook up a playstation controller to a pc. if they have it for playstation, they prolly have it for dc..
 

Wa11y

Senior Thread Hijacker
Joined
May 17, 2001
Location
Six inches to the right.
pcgirl said:
Not sure about DC, but I got an adapter to use a Playstation controller on a pc from googlegear.com.

I've got the same thing, but I haven't used it since I don't have any spare PSX controllers.

If you can check the pinouts on the DC controler, and if they match USB, pin 1 should be +5v, and 4 should be ground. 2 and 3 are data, so there's no way to test them with a multimeter. But if pin 1 is +5v and pin 4 is ground, chances are good you may be able to cobble something together with a USB cable. But you assume all risks for this.
 
OP
Stoanhart

Stoanhart

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Location
VIctoria, BC, Canada
I looked at the DC controller. It has 6 pins, actually. Also, they're not really pins, but flat contacts.

they are layed out like this:


_ <- One big flat one on top
+------+
| - - | <- two contacts on top
| - - - | <- Three on bottom
+-------+

I've also searched the web and haven't found any comercial ones.

damn, it wont format right. It's supposed to be a box with 3 little things at the bottom, and two at the top. The very top one is supposed to be centered
 

Wa11y

Senior Thread Hijacker
Joined
May 17, 2001
Location
Six inches to the right.
Well, I really don't know what you'd be able to do. If you're brave, you could crack open your DC controller, and check where all the wires go, and maybe do some wire hacks. I really don't know if you'll be able to do that just from guessing.