• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

dual monitor help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ssspy007

Disabled
I just installed mandrake 9.0, i am new to linux altogether and in winxp i was runnin my laptop screen and a 17in crt. my graphics card if u can call it that is a S3 savage 8mb :eek: i am also runnin kde if this helps too. also i really dont know if its possible but i am hopin i dont haveta experience linux on a 12.1 screen :rolleyes: thanxs!

XWRed1

You tried fiddling with the actual key on the keyboard to toggle between external video? To do multiple desktop stuff in software, you're gonna have to hope that the S3 driver makes provisions for that, otherwise you are sol.

OP
ssspy007

ssspy007

Disabled
thanks for the reply but i was tryin to stretch the desktop across both of the monitors instead of just havin the same image on both screens or just one, is there n e way to do that ? thank u for the reply :)

XWRed1

You aren't gonna be able to stretch the display unless the S3 driver lets you.

XWRed1

I'm pretty sure the reason that that works is because the Radeon driver supports it. Same for Matrox.

OP
ssspy007

ssspy007

Disabled
thanxs for the reply and the support snowmobile. i hope it is possible and i am gonna play with it and see if i can get it to work. My roommate has a ti4200. does n e one have n e experience with a dual monitor setup with that video card? all and all i am lovin linux :)

XWRed1

Twinview on Nvidia boards is documented pretty well in Nvidia's readme.

snowmobile74

this has nothing to do with drivers dude its a feature of X, implimented as of version 4.

btw I went through the how-to and did it works fine with my 2 nVidia cards and it would just as easily work with 2 divrent video cards assuming they are supported by lux

XWRed1