• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Duel CPU AMD motherboards

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
P

Phrack

Guest
Do any duel cpu AMD motherboards exist yet? If so what brands?
 

SickBoy

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jan 13, 2001
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Well, there are some in existence as I saw pics of a running dual palomino system from CeBit a couple of weeks ago. I dont think they've made it to the production line yet though. And even if they have, it really doesnt matter because AMD is saying TBirds and Durons are NOT SMP capable. So at any rate we're going to have to wait for the horsey before we can go dual on Athlons. Oh well.

SickBoy
 

Kriegster

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2001
actually i think i heard that they are "probably" compatible but they don't recommend it. i think it has something to do with the power requirements for the current athlons. then again i may have heard a bunch of lies, as info on this is sketchy at best :)
 

Taylor

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2001
Location
San Diego
Well, it turns out the dual proc boards I saw at Iwill Asus, and Abit are all intel boards, as Sickboy indicated they must be. Too bad, because I really would like to build a dually for folding, but I want to stick to AMD for now. So I'm back to deciding between the kk266 and some Abit board with the kt133-a chipset.
 

whiskey![Nw]

Registered
Joined
Mar 8, 2001
Friend of mine tried duel p3 733's and hasnt gotten it to run yet. after seeing that when dual boards are available for AMD chips i think im gonna stay away. :(
 

Nagorak

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Dual CPU systems don't really help you much currently. Windows 98/ME are not even threaded to take advantage of the second processor in SMP setups. So the application has to be specially coded to take advantage of the second CPU. Even in Windows 2000, as I understand it, the second CPU rarely comes in to play. So basically the first CPU does most of the work, while the second just sits there idling away most of the time.
 

Taylor

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2001
Location
San Diego
Nagorak (Apr 10, 2001 11:58 p.m.):
Dual CPU systems don't really help you much currently. Windows 98/ME are not even threaded to take advantage of the second processor in SMP setups. So the application has to be specially coded to take advantage of the second CPU. Even in Windows 2000, as I understand it, the second CPU rarely comes in to play. So basically the first CPU does most of the work, while the second just sits there idling away most of the time.

That's good then, because I won't be missing out on anything by getting a single proc board.
 

Kriegster

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2001
yeah only certain software can take advantage of a dual cpu system. A nice advantage is however when running in win2k you can multitask, like burn a cd and play a game at the same time (provided the game will work ok in win2k :) ) Dual cpu's supposedly work very well for multitasking
 

Angry

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Windows NT supports dual processors..i know thsi for a fact cause i have a huge big freakin book that says windows NT is more stable than other OS also..u can set windows NT to use ceartain apps on which pocessor...either have one app use just one processor or have it use both....I havent gotin NT yet but i dont care that it kinda outdated...it doesnt limit FPS like 2000..which might i add was made from part of the NT structure as i was told but this may not be true...but i belive it is..but that my opinion..so far anyway....anyway NT does support Dual Processors....why 2000 doesnt im not sure but there should be some way if it was made from NT...but then again that may point out that it wasnt made from NT.....just my 2 cents.....also 2000 may be more stable but who knows
 

Taylor

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2001
Location
San Diego
Angry (Apr 11, 2001 04:26 p.m.):
Windows NT supports dual processors..i know thsi for a fact cause i have a huge big freakin book that says windows NT is more stable than other OS also..u can set windows NT to use ceartain apps on which pocessor...either have one app use just one processor or have it use both....I havent gotin NT yet but i dont care that it kinda outdated...it doesnt limit FPS like 2000..which might i add was made from part of the NT structure as i was told but this may not be true...but i belive it is..but that my opinion..so far anyway....anyway NT does support Dual Processors....why 2000 doesnt im not sure but there should be some way if it was made from NT...but then again that may point out that it wasnt made from NT.....just my 2 cents.....also 2000 may be more stable but who knows

This is not incompatable with Nagorak's comments- I've considered going to win NT, but frankly don't want to add to my already full plate if you know what I mean. (Having a normal life AND learning about OCing) One thing though- Does anyone know what OS are used by the people with commercial dual cpu server systems? I mean someone must be getting some good results or they wouldn't bother with the extra expense.
 

SickBoy

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jan 13, 2001
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Taylor-
I hear ya about the "having an normal life and learning to overclock" thing. I can't imagine some of these guys in here like Dimmreaper and OpenFriday who have 1000+ posts since the new board..... I have been active since January, it seems like I am in here every free moment of the day, and I only have, well, 270 some posts.... Learning a new OS is certainly no easy endeavor. I have been using Win98 for 2 years now and am just now getting the tweaking and running stuff down.... can't imagine having to do it all over again. Anyway, just a thought. To add a little on the SMP thing - I had a friend who had a BP6 and dual Celly 366's OC'ed to 550 and he just got sick of messing with it, trying to get Win2K and Win98 and Linux to play together nicely... he got rid of the whole setup and went to Win98 SE and a MSI K7T Pro 2A with a Athlon 1 GHz. Way, way more powerful for 99% of the stuff he does. SMP just isn't there yet for the average user. It'll get there though....

SickBoy
 

hooziewhatsit

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
Klamath Falls Oregon, USA
Personally, I can't wait for the 760MP chipset to come out. Running a dual athlon box should be faster than a dual Intel box just because of the way the chipsets are set up. If I heard right, the intel chipset has each processor sharing the bandwidth to the northbridge, while the athlon chips will each have a dedicated path to the northbridge. Of course it would help tremendously to have software that is optimized for smp ;-)
 

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Dually CPUs are supported by Win 2k Advanced server. In fact it supports up to 8 cpus. I don't know what you would gain from doing this for normal applications though. Certainly there would be a gain from the server side if supporting multiple work groups in constant state of activity.

I'm building a second box to complete my MCSE and to host my current systems on my @home connection. I don't know for certain if I can do it yet but would like to use it as an exchange server to provide support for Outlook mail clients. Outlook rocks over Outlook express.

Downside is you won't see too much game support from this OS. Just depends on what your trying to do with it.