• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Duron 2000+

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

F4

Red Raccoon Dojo
Joined
Mar 29, 2003
Location
Beamsville
How long has AMD been numbering their duron's this way?

This is the first I've ever heard of it, and we just started selling systems with them in it at work.

Any reviews on ?newer? durons?

It made me sad to see it only ran at 1.3Ghz......
 

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Durons do not use a PR rating. New Durons are 1.4, 1.6. and 1.8.

1.3 is an old Duron Morgan.

Athlon XP 2000+ comes as Palomino, T-Bred A, T-Bred B and Thorton, that's it.

There's got to be a mistake on your end.
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
It may be a retailer advertising a Duron 1.6GHz as a Duron 2000+... I believe retailers have attempted to use the PR system to rate Durons before, although they are officially available as

Duron 600/650/700/750/800/850/900/950 [Spitfire w/ 3dnow/no SSE]
Duron 1000/1100/1200/1300 [Morgan w/ 3dnow and SSE]
Duron 1400/1600/1800 [Applebred w/ 3dnow and SSE]
 

JDXNC

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
A couple mobo makes were putting 1.3 Duron's permanantly on cheap boards and calling them 2000+'s, thats where the name comes from, its not officially sanctioned by AMD... this has been going on for quite some time. I have seen them back in the 850Mhz days, althoigh they were using lower ratings then.
 
OP
F4

F4

Red Raccoon Dojo
Joined
Mar 29, 2003
Location
Beamsville
I'm not making a mistake, I'm looking right at the labels on the box, and the advertising in the flyer.

Well, I work for a compusmart, and we're selling "AMD Duron 2000+" computer systems.

http://www.compusmart.com/flyer/pdfs/CSM12D_Boxing_Week.pdf

There's the flyer, the 399.99 computer system is a "Duron 2000+", and I had never heard of AMD labeling their systems as such.

I have found a couple retailers selling systems with these in it, but I haven't been able to find anything else. The mobo manufacturer is Syntax, but I poped the hood on one yet to see if it's stuck there or not.
 

JDXNC

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
There you see it, its the OEM making the "2000+" statement.... NOT AMD, its been happening for a while, just look on ebay, its all over in the AMD section. They use it to compair against the Celeron.