• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Duron 800MHz Can't Overclock to 1GHz????!!?!?!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Simon____yeah

I am a newbie in overclocking....Hope you guys can ans my question.

My computer is newly brought, with AMD Duron 800Mhz.... I would like to overclock to to about 1Ghz, but the Duron processor, seems can't allow me to do so, I have checked the temperature of CPU, it is 50'C at normal speed(800Mhz) after opened about 1hr, then i try to overclock it to 900Mhz , opened abt 1Hr, is around 54'C, but the system is still stable, then i try 1Ghz, it can't open the computer at all, so i release it to around 920Mhz, it is ok, but the CPU temp is around 57-58'C....so I think there is a problem, acturally i have put the high quality CPU cooler, but then the temp seems still doesn't give any changes at all.........so you man think wht should i do??>.<

OK you need o give some info fist.
ARe you changing the multiplier? or FSB only? or both?
What kind of heatsink? thermal paste?
What is your motherboard?
How did you unlock you duron?
What is your Vcore?
What is your VIO?
Or anything that you may have changed
OR anything that can give MORE DETAIL on your setup

I have tried FSB b4, I can maximum tune it to only 116Mhz at FSB, so the speed should be abt 8*116=928Mhz with Vcore is 1.65V...the temp is abt 57-58'C after opening an hour, then I tried to make the multipler by, 10*100=1G with Vcore 1.7V, it can't open the computer, then I tried 9*100=900Mhz with Vcore 1.6V, the temp is about 53'C....i feel it's quite dangerous, so i use the normal once, so the last one is:
8*100Mhz=800Mhz
Vcore=1.6V
But the temp is still 53'C................I have no idea of this........I unlock the Duron by draw the L1 cache with Pencil, but I think there isn't anyproblem with the drawing....