• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Duron question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Starfire_MK2

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
Location
Burnaby, B.C., Canada
I just got some rear window defogger for the L1 bridges on my Duron 750-once I apply it, how long should I let it sit for? I ask because the defogger box says to wait 24 hours (yes, I know they're referring to cars, not CPU's) :)
 

demon-eater

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Location
Central Pa
I would say it wouldn't hurt to let it sit for the full 24hrs.. but if you were really really impatiant then maybe alittle sooner but i wouldn't advise that.
 

Yodums

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2001
Location
Ottawa, Canada
I think their not really referring to car when saying the full 24hrs, I think they really mean the defogger. As mentioned, it wouldn't hurt to leave it for the full 24hours as you probably have another system running (Seeing how your posting here).

Yodums
 

FRANK

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2001
Location
Pittsburgh Pa
I've done the "de-fogger" trick many times and usually let it sit about five minutes. Then the anticipation gets the better of me and I go ahead and install it. I've not had a problem with my method. Once you start the computer, the heat generated will cure the solution in short order.

Good Luck!
 

eobard

Give me a break Senior
Joined
Jul 12, 2001
Yeah when I've done it I waited about 30 minutes at most. You don't need to wait a full day.
 

eobard

Give me a break Senior
Joined
Jul 12, 2001
I had to redo my penciling after about 3 months, so have a lot of other people but not all. 3-4 months seems to be the average life of penciling. Mind you I did a **** poor job with my defogger and wound up having to redo it after a while too. :rolleyes:
 

Cluster

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2001
Location
Canuckistan
I did mine with the pencil and it works beautifully. I would suggest it over the defogger for durons because the pencil is easier to clean up and undo.
 

Milkman

Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2002
Location
NH Biodiesel master
I must agree with clboertien that the pencil trick works great on Durons and is really easy once you have done it a few times, no need to make it harder than it needs to be!!
;)
 
OP
Starfire_MK2

Starfire_MK2

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
Location
Burnaby, B.C., Canada
Ok, try this one and see if it make sense. I've been running my Duron on a 133 bus for almost a year, and haven't been able to multiplier clock. I put the jumper back into the board for 100 FSB, and viola! Multiplier clockable! This make any sense? Now, my question. I'm able to run the DRAM clock at 133 with the bus at 100. I just ran a 3D Mark 2001 se. The results at 10x100 were about 150 points lower than 7.5x133. Will I get better performance if I keep upping the multiplier on the 100 bus, or would it be better to stay at 997MHz on a 133 bus? Any idea why I can't multiplier clock on the 133 bus? I have to admit the temperture is lower at 10x100 than 7.5x133.
 

eobard

Give me a break Senior
Joined
Jul 12, 2001
Starfire_MK2 said:
Ok, try this one and see if it make sense. I've been running my Duron on a 133 bus for almost a year, and haven't been able to multiplier clock. I put the jumper back into the board for 100 FSB, and viola! Multiplier clockable! This make any sense? Now, my question. I'm able to run the DRAM clock at 133 with the bus at 100. I just ran a 3D Mark 2001 se. The results at 10x100 were about 150 points lower than 7.5x133. Will I get better performance if I keep upping the multiplier on the 100 bus, or would it be better to stay at 997MHz on a 133 bus? Any idea why I can't multiplier clock on the 133 bus? I have to admit the temperture is lower at 10x100 than 7.5x133.

As to why your system won't allow multiplyer adjustments at 133mhz we'd need to know what board you've got to try to figure that one out.

For the prefered multiple vs bus question it's dependent on what you do with your machine. My board is a budget board and tops out the fsb at 117mhz, for a long time I ran both my bus and memory at 117mhz because I've got crap memory that won't go above 140mhz. I set the bus rate back to 105mhz and ran the memory at fsb+pci (140mhz) and even though I lowered the bus rate my SETI times (for a fast wu) went from 7:40 to 7:20 (roughly) because of the memory increase. The only thing I can suggest it that you try both a lower bus rate with async memory setting and a high multiple and compare it to a high bus rate with sync memory and a lower multiple and see for yourself based on the programs that you most often use.
 
OP
Starfire_MK2

Starfire_MK2

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
Location
Burnaby, B.C., Canada
Yeah, I'm in the process of benchmarking to figure out whats best. I thought maybe someone might know off the top of their head. My m/b is an MSI K7T Turbo, using the most recent bios.