• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

e6420 or e5200 oc

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JigawattPSU

Registered
K then, this is my first post on these forums and i suppose i'm neither the first nor last person to show up with a problem... :\

So basically i am a newb at overclocking, i have done some with positive results, but i just want more and i know my PC should be capable of more.

The PC i want to oc:
ASRock 4core1600glan/m mobo
http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=4Core1600-GLAN/M
e5200 or e6420 (using the e6420 right now)
DDR2 800mhz Kingston ram 2x2gb
Club3D HD6770 gpu
And all this is fed by some Xilence PSU which i think is 500w, not sure tho (no sticker on it...)

For a while i was using the e5200 oc'ed @3,05ghz which i had acomplished by raising the fsb in bios to 244. I think the DRAM was about 300mhz then and the FSB/DRAM 4:5.

After trying to sell my e6420 which was just lying arround because the mobo of my other desktop fried recently i found out that it might just be better than the e5200 because of the 4mb cache instead of 2mb presuming they both are overclocked @ about 3ghz.
Today i swapped them and tried to oc the e6420 to 3ghz but ran into the same problem i had had before with the e5200. Upon reaching a certain FSB i just get no post and have to pull out the battery from the mobo to reset bios settings. Now i didn't really mind it with the e5200 since i still managed to get more than 3ghz out of it even if others are running it @ 3,2 or even more, but right now i am stuck with the e6420 @ 2,74ghz. My FSB is currently 343 and when i increase it to 344 or higher i get no post.